UW Health Sports Medicine 

SAAC Banner Image

 SAACTwitter Logo    Student Athlete of the Month
 Meeting Information  Student Athlete of the Year
 SAAC History  


The mission of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) is to strive to enhance the total student-athlete experience by promoting opportunity, protecting student-athlete welfare and fostering a positive student-athlete image. The SAAC is a leadership organization that provides a link of communication between UW-Madison student-athletes and the athletic department administration on relevant issues pertaining to student-athlete well-being. Additionally, SAAC organizes events to network, serve, and develop with each other, the greater UW-Madison campus and the Madison community. SAAC also discusses and provides feedback to the Big 10 Conference SAAC and the NCAA Division I SAAC on important issues that directly affect the student-athlete experience on a conference and national level.

SAAC is made up of two voting representatives from each of the 23 athletic teams here at UW-Madison. Any student-athlete is welcome to attend SAAC meetings and get involved, even if he/she is not a voting representative.

The Executive Board is made up of the President, Vice President and Secretary. The Leadership Board is made up of the Advertizing Chair, the Community Service Chair and two ASM Chairs.

2014-15 Leadership Board

photo of Katie Delaney
Katie Delaney
Women's Swimming
Photo of Vince Bertram
Vice President
Vince Bertram
Men's Rowing
photo of Nikki Greenhalgh
Nikki Greenhalgh
Women's Soccer
photo of KT Kvas
Advertising Chair
KT Kvas
photo of Nikki Greenhalgh
Community Service Chair
Nikki Greenhalgh
Women's Soccer
photo of Maddie Timm
ASM Chair
Madeline Timm
Women's Cross Country
photo of Ben Cox
ASM Chair
Ben Cox

Back to top

Meeting Information/Minutes

Back to top

Student-Athlete of the Month & Student-Athlete of the Year

"In recognition by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee of excellence on and off the field of competition."

This award was developed by the SAAC in the spring of 1997 in order to recognize the exemplary portrayal of the Badger student-athlete. Nominations will come from coaches and Office of Academic Services & Office of Student-Athlete Development staff members. Nominations are submitted to the SAAC advisor and presented at the designated SAAC meeting. At the meeting, two representatives from each team are eligible to vote. The nominees, one from each sport designated for the specific month, with the popular vote shall claim the award. The following guidelines have been established to determine potential recipients for the award:

  • Be academically eligible and in good academic standing
  • Have obtained an outstanding achievement or recognition in academics
  • Make a significant contribution to their respective team
  • Be actively engaged in community service

At the end of the academic year all of the Student-Athlete of the Month award winners become the nominees for the Student-Athlete of the Year Award. All student-athletes will have an opportunity to vote for the Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Month. The winners are announced at the annual Buckinghams.

2014-15 Student-Athletes of the Month

Football - Mike Caputo
Women's Soccer - Genevieve Richard
Women's Cross Country - Sarah Disanza

Men's Soccer - Jacob Brindle
Volleyball - Haleigh Nelson
Men's Cross Country - Malachy Schrobilgen

Men's Basketball - Bronson Koenig
Women's Hockey - Blayre Turnbull
Men's Swimming and Diving - Matt Hutchins

Women's Swimming and Diving - Ivy Martin
Men's Hockey - Chase Drake

Wrestling - Connor Medbery
Women's Basketball - Nicole Bauman
Women's Track and Field - Deanna Latham

Women's Tennis - Lauren Chypyha
Men's Tennis - Cheme Carranza
Men's Track and Field - Michael Lihrman
Men's Golf - Thomas O'Bryan

Men's Rowing -
Women's Rowing -
Softball -
Women's Golf -

Back to top

SAAC History

Past SAAC Presidents
2013-14 Kodee Williams Women's Soccer
2012-13 Kodee Williams Women's Soccer
2011-12 Lauren Cochlin Women's Soccer
2010-11 Lauren Cochlin Women's Soccer
2009-10 Sara Goff Women's Swimming
2008-09 Nick Fulton Men's Swimming
2007-08 Janese Banks Women's BB
2006-07 Jill Ries Women's Golf
2005-06 Nate Brown Men's T &F
2004-05 Boo Gillette Softball
2003-04 Boo Gillette Softball
2002-03 Tessa Molter Lightweight Crew
2001-02 Siobhan Kernan Women's Diving
2000-01 Mike Cerniglia Men's Hockey
1999-00 Mike Cerniglia Men's Hockey
1998-99 Lindsay Buswell Volleyball
1997-98 Bich-ty Lee Women's Crew
1996-97 Sandy Moran Women's Track

Back to top

For information on future meetings and events contact Bridget Woodruff at BRW@athletics.wisc.edu or 608-890-2021.

Football Season Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago