UW Health Sports Medicine 

Whitney Massey and Kendall Grimm named first team All-Big Ten

ON WISCONSIN <b>Whitney Massey belted 22 doubles, a UW single-season best.</b>
Whitney Massey belted 22 doubles, a UW single-season best.

May 16, 2012

MADISON, Wis. -- Following a season that saw the Wisconsin softball team win a school-record 13 Big Ten Conference games, the Badgers placed a school-record-tying four student-athletes on All-Big Ten teams, the conference announced Wednesday afternoon.

Junior second baseman Whitney Massey and junior outfielder Kendall Grimm earned first team All-Big Ten honors, marking the first time in program history that two Badgers have been named to the first team in the same year.

Massey led the Badgers with a .358 batting average, set a UW single-season record with 22 doubles and led the team with 36 RBI. Massey started all 23 Big Ten games at second base, hitting a league-best 12 doubles in Big Ten play.  

Grimm finished the season with a .333 batting average. She ranked fourth in the Big Ten with a .407 league batting average that included 24 hits in 59 at bats. In the outfield, Grimm played errorless ball, with 33 putouts and one assist.

Sophomore starting pitcher Cassandra Darrah earned second team All-Big Ten honors. Darrah finished the year with a 22-13 record and 2.27 ERA. In league play, Darrah recorded a 10-9 record and 2.50 ERA. Darrah was twice honored by the Big Ten as pitcher of the week. 

Senior designated player Karla Powell earned third team honors. A first team selection in 2011, she finished the season strong after missing time due to an injury. Powell batted .314 in league play and capped off her career with a home run at Nebraska.   

Sophomore shortstop Stephanie Peace was recognized as the team's Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree. Peace batted .303 in league play with three home runs and 14 RBI.

The Badgers finished the 2012 season with a program-best-tying 34 wins and its .641 winning percentage was a program best. In league play, UW set school record with 13 wins, finishing with a 13-10 record and tying Purdue for sixth place.   

The 2012 All-Big Ten teams and individual honorees can be found below.

All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Honorees

First Team
C – Liz Watkins, Sr., IOWA
1B – Amanda Chidester, Sr. MICH
2B – Whitney Massey, Jr., WIS
SS – Megan Blank, Fr., IOWA
3B – Marisa Bast, So., NU
OF – Kylene Hopkins, Jr., MSU
OF – Kendall Grimm, Jr., WIS
UT – Sara Driesenga, Fr., MICH
DP – Shannon Cawley, Fr., IND
P – Kayla Massey, So., IOWA

Second Team*
C – Kasie Hatfield, So., PSU
1B – Adrienne Monka, Jr., NU
2B – Courtney Breault, Jr., NEB
SS – Emily Allard, Jr., NU
3B – Amanda Wagner, Jr., IND
OF – Bree Evans, Sr., MICH
OF – Nicole Sappingfield, So., MICH
OF – Brooke Thomason, Jr., NEB
UT – Amy Letourneau, Fr., NU|
DP – Michelle Zoeller, So., IOWA
P – Pepper Gay, Jr., ILL
P – Ashley Hagemann, Sr., NEB
P – Cassandra Darrah, So., WIS

Third Team
C– Cassie Gogreve, Sr., IND
OF – Johnnie Dowling, Jr., IOWA
2B – Ashley Lane, Jr., MICH
P – Sara Moulton, So., MINN
SS – Tyler Walker, Fr., MINN
3B – Gabby Banda, Jr., NEB
UT – Tatum Edwards, So., NEB
SS – Alicia Herron, Sr., OSU
C – Shelby Pickett, Fr., OSU
1B – Ashley Courtney, Jr., PUR
DP – Karla Powell, Sr., WIS

Player of the Year: Amanda Chidester, MICH
Pitcher of the Year:
Freshman of the Year:
Haylie Wagner, MICH
Coach of the Year:
Carol Hutchins, MICH

* - Additional honorees due to tie CAPS indicate unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Honorees: Kelley Wedel, ILL; Amanda Wagner, IND; Katie Keim, IOWA; Caitlin Blanchard, MICH; Lori Padilla, MSU; Dannie Skrove; MINN; Ashley Guile, NEB; Mari Majam, NU; Megan Coletta, OSU; Danee Collett, PSU; Ashley Courtney, PUR; Stephanie Peace, WIS

Social Media>

</a><!-- END .rr-bottom -->

				<div id=
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago