UW Health Sports Medicine 

Hoffman and Fenelus recognized for national academic award



Dec. 7, 2011

Orlando, Fla. - Two UW student-athletes are being recognized as first-team recipients of the 2011 Academic Momentum Award presented by the Scholar Baller® program, in conjunction with the National Consortium for Academics and Sports (NCAS).

Senior defensive back Antonio Fenelus and senior rower Shannon Hoffman were among the top 17 honorees recognized from 89 nominations that were received from 55 different colleges and universities.
From the National Consortium for Academics and Sports Release
"Top nominations were categorized into three teams based on each student-athlete's academic improvement and the impact each student-athlete's academic performance had on his or her classmates, teammates, academic advisors, and professors. A total of 17 male and female award recipients from NCAS partner schools were selected for the First Team, 16 recipients were chosen for the Second Team, and 16 recipients were selected for the Third Team.

Established in 1995, the Scholar Baller® movement evolved in response to concerns that the student-athlete's athletics role increasingly superseded the student role. In order to address this issue, the founding members of Scholar Baller® developed a groundbreaking program to bridge the gap between education and sport utilizing student-athletes' passion for entertainment and athletics. As a result, the Scholar Baller program has produced unprecedented outcomes in student retention and academic achievement."

First Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:
Christopher Bass, Louisiana State University, General Studies, Basketball
Chelsea Carrier, West Virginia University, Child Development, Track and Field
Erin Davis, University of Nebraska- Lincoln, Psychology, Gymnastics
Antonio Fenelus, University of Wisconsin, Education, Football
Janae Fulcher, Arizona State University, Interdisciplinary Studies, Basketball
Curenski Gilleylen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Civil Engineering, Football
Robert Golabek, University at Buffalo, Communication, Track and Field
Gimel Gordon, Georgia State University, Nursing, Soccer
Shannon Hoffman, University of Wisconsin, Human Development and Family Studies, Rowing
Connor Lade, St. Johns University, Sports Management, Soccer
Robert McLarney, Rutgers University, Communication, Soccer
Jessica Pariza, North Carolina State University, Business Management, Gymnastics
Latoya Parkinson, Auburn University, Mathematics, Track
Trent Richardson, University of Alabama, Undeclared, Football
Anthony Salciccia, University of California Berkley, Social Welfare, Soccer
Allison Venella, Villanova University, English, Cross Country
Natalie Villarreal, Texas A&M University, Agricultural Leadership and Development, Softball

Second Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:
Tyler Bitancurt, West Virginia University, Multidisciplinary Studies, Football
Aunye Boone, Virginia Tech, English, Track & Field
Brook Borneman, Indiana University, Fitness Specialist, Field Hockey
Dakota Crockett, Texas A&M University Commerce, Graphic Design, Volleyball
Janelle Davis, Canisius College, Childhood Education, Volleyball
Michael Genovese, Seton Hall University, Elementary Special Education, Baseball
Jamion Hartley, Ball State University, Business, Volleyball
Kari Honomichl, Niagara University, Communications, Volleyball
Sarah Lizotte, UC San Diego, Undeclared, Water Polo
Amanda Montalto, Ball State University, General Studies, Softball
Stephanie Norton, University of Connecticut, Environmental Engineering, Lacrosse
Jamal Parks, Oklahoma State University, Education, Wrestling
Cecille Perez, Abilene Christian University, Criminal Justice, Basketball
Luke Spencer, Xavier University, Pre Occupational Therapy, Soccer
Shealyn Sullivan, Georgian Court University, History, Soccer
Kayla Vitale, Dowling College, Psychology, Soccer

Third Team Academic Momentum Award recipients are:
Stephen Bailey, Florida International University, Criminal Justice, Football
Ashley Benson, Indiana University, General Studies, Volleyball
Mark Dodds, Florida International University, Liberal Studies, Baseball
Janae Grimes, San Jose City College, Fashion Design/Business, Softball
April Hutchens, Valdosta State University, Deaf Education, Softball
Verdell Jones II, Indiana University, Sport Communication/Broadcasting, Basketball
Chanel King, St. Johns University, Criminal Justice, Track and Field
Lindsey Lamar, University of South Florida, Communications, Football
Shelly Lyons, Arizona State University, Criminal Justice, Football
Geoffrey Navarro, Monmouth University, Health Studies, Track and Field
DeShawn Painter, North Carolina State University, Social Work, Basketball
Matthew Pierce, Valdosta State University, Criminal Justice, Football
Korney Rhoades, University of South Carolina, Public Health, Soccer
Kiersten Tupper, University of Connecticut, Human Development and Family Studies, Lacrosse
Athalia Smith, Sacred Heart University, Business Administration, Track and Field
Khymest Williams, University of Central Florida, Sports and Exercise Science, Football

Award nominations included stories of: working with a learning specialist to progress academically; persevering on the quest for academic success while inspiring peers and teammates to excel in the classroom, becoming the first in their family to graduate with a degree from a college or university; being an international student who had to persevere through hardships both academically and economically; and organizing local community service initiatives.

The NCAS is an ever-growing organization of colleges and universities that provides opportunities for current and former student-athletes to continue their pursuit of higher education, while working in the community with children to address social issues. Established in 1985, the overall mission of the NCAS is to create a better society by focusing on educational attainment and using the power appeal of sport to positively affect social change.

Each award recipient will receive a recognition certificate and authentic Scholar Baller medal.  In addition, all nominees will receive a ThinkMan® or ThinkWoman® decal/sticker."

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago