UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers take third at Big Ten championships

Race photo

May 19, 2013

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader  |  Photos

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Wisconsin women's rowing team started the day off well, winning the second novice eight race, but the Badgers would have to settle for a third-place team finish at the end of the day at the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Sunday.

"As far as our performance today, we exceeded our expectations," head coach Bebe Bryans said. "This is what we were hoping that we could pull off and we stacked up and race really well. We're happy with it, it was the best that we could do today.

"We were right in there and Michigan was able to pull out the higher finish in the varsity eight, which, points wise obviously, put them above. But we showed that we are right there in the hunt and are competitive."

Entering the final race of the day, the Badgers were sitting in second place and within reach of claiming the title. Unfortunately, Ohio State and Michigan finished ahead of Wisconsin in the varsity eight race, and the win boosted the Wolverines into second place by a margin of one point.

As a whole, the day was still very much a success for Wisconsin, as the Badgers medaled all but one of their boats. Ohio State won its fourth conference title in school history, totaling 160 points. Michigan tallied 135 team points, while UW had 134.

"As a championship, it was pretty awesome," Bryans commented. "I think the Big Ten showed that we're still a force to be reckoned with. Ohio State, I think, is in a really good position to make a run at our first national title coming out of the Big Ten."

The second novice eights started off the conference regatta and the Badgers' boat was the first to cross the finish line with open water and a time of 7:13.072. Following up, the first novice eights turned in a strong race and finished second with a time of 7:08.482.

"The novices did great," Bryans added. "Looking at the season we have had, if anyone would have been impacted negatively the most, it would have been the novices. We acted like it was normal and they took us up on it and they've been awesome, and it makes me really excited about the future."

The Iowa third varsity four boat spoiled the Badgers' podium sweep, as the Hawkeyes took third and forced Wisconsin to come in fourth with a time of 8:08.072. Both of the UW second and first varsity fours placed second in their races with times of 7:35.711 and 7:30.898, respectively.

As the final two events remained, the second and first varsity eights, Wisconsin was sitting in second place behind Ohio State and ahead of Michigan. The result of the second varsity eight race did nothing to change the order of teams as Wisconsin finished second with a time of 6:42.784.

The varsity eight race started off without an outright leader for the first 500 meters. However, Ohio State started to pull ahead of the rest of the pack, and would ultimately finish with a 10-second margin of victory. Michigan and Michigan State then began to break away from Wisconsin, but within the final 1,000 meters, the Badgers overtook the Spartans and began to push on Michigan for second. Unfortunately, the late surge wouldn't be enough and UW's varsity eight finished in 6:42.124, just over two seconds behind Michigan.

Additionally, varsity eight coxswain Kendall Schmidt was named First Team All-Big Ten, while Monica Whitehouse and Amy Slesar were named Second Team All-Big Ten. Melanie Moranski was the Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree for Wisconsin.

The third place finish is the third straight for the Badgers at the Big Ten championships. Wisconsin now must wait and see if they'll be selected for the 2013 NCAA Championships. The NCAA selection show airs on Tuesday, May 21 at 4 p.m. (CT) on NCAA.com.

Team Results
1. Ohio State (160)
2. Michigan (135)
3. Wisconsin (134)
4. Michigan State (85)
5. Minnesota (72)
6. Iowa (54)
7. Indiana (28)

All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
Madelyn Shields, Indiana
Katy Kroll, Iowa
Melisa Ongun, Michigan
Shannon Stief, Michigan
Katie Cromic, Michigan State
Cassie Drozynski, Minnesota
Claire-Louise Bode, Ohio State
Allison Eber, Ohio State
Rixt Medima, Ohio State
Kendall Schmidt, Wisconsin

Second Team
Asja Zero, Indiana
Laura Hallman, Iowa
Kate Grimaldi, Michigan
Bryna Oleshansky, Michigan
Nora Hannum, Michigan State
Christine Beauparlant, Minnesota
Corrine Meinert, Ohio State
Holly Norton, Ohio State
Amy Slesar, Wisconsin
Monica Whitehouse, Wisconsin

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Olivia Gugliemotto, Indiana
Louise Bensz, Iowa
Colleen Macke, Michigan
Laura Moore, Michigan State
Sarah Sobek, Minnesota
Chloe Meyer, Ohio State
Melanie Moranski, Wisconsin

Wisconsin Lineups
First Varsity Eight: coxswain: Kendall Schmidt, Monica Whitehouse, Amy Slesar, Lauren Pietila, Katelyn Swanson, Jenda Wilder, Leah Gustafson, Katie Hanes, Hanna Lynch

Second Varsity Eight: coxswain: Clare Chandler, Laine Maher, Katelin Muench, Jackie Koykkar, Elizabeth Schoenfeldt, Kristine Kammers, Pam Schommer, Anne Rauschert, Melanie Moranski

First Novice Eight: coxswain: Jordan Weiss, Merritt Denham, Margo Grover, Laura Rudolph, Alexa Callahan, Kellyn Cameron, Sarah Larson, Brianna Dahm, Hannah Schwartz

Second Novice Eight: coxswain: Olivia Starr, Emilie Johnston, Lexie Moening, Anna Knutson, Nicole Brandt, Taylor Vande Zande, Amanda Bauer, Masy Engel, Sophie Carr

First Varsity Four: coxswain: Marie Hebert, Nicole Hettman, Kaitlinn Dunn, Steph Malchine, Rachel Gendreau

Second Varsity Four: coxswain Kate Condon, Carly Orwin, Kelsey Kramer, Libby O'Rourke, Emma Allmann

Third Varsity Four: coxswain: Emily Mech, Kelly McGarry, Marlee Piette, Charlotte Keleske, Sierra Fischer

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago