UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers turn in strong showing against Minnesota, Michigan State

<b>Wisconsin hosted its lone regatta on Lake Mendota of the season, besting Michigan and Minnesota in five of six races</b>

Wisconsin hosted its lone regatta on Lake Mendota of the season, besting Michigan and Minnesota in five of six races

May 5, 2013

Results  |  Photos

MADISON, Wis. -- Racing on a near perfect morning on Lake Mendota, the No. 14 Wisconsin women's rowing team won five of its six races against conference rivals Minnesota and Michigan State on Sunday, in a warm-up for the Big Ten Championships.

“I was really proud to showcase the Porter Boathouse and Wisconsin athletics today,” head coach Bebe Bryans said. “We had three Big Ten teams battling it out on the water on a picture perfect day, and the Badgers were able to put forth a very strong showing.”

The Badgers' varsity four crew continued their strong season and made their case for an NCAA berth with a dominating performance. Wisconsin blew past the Gophers and Spartans, winning with a time of 7:28.7, which cleared second place Michigan State by 14 seconds.

Wisconsin's second varsity four A boat followed suit, clearing the second-place Spartans by just under 16 second. The Badgers won with a 7:30.6 time.

The lone second place finish for the Badgers came in the first race of the morning with the varsity eights. In what was a close race throughout, Wisconsin fell behind Minnesota in the last 1,000 meters of the race and came up just short with a 6:36.5 time that was just over a second behind the Gophers.

“Minnesota got off to a fast start winning the varsity eight,” Bryans said. “They came fired up and showed that they were a more polished and race ready boat than we were. They rowed a great race from start to finish.”

Wisconsin rebounded well from the loss, winning the final five races of the morning, including three-straight eights races.

That run started with the second varsity eight, where the Badgers won with a 6:46.3 time, just under a second and a half better than Minnesota.

“The second varsity eight and both varsity fours showcased the depth that the Badgers have as we were able to prevail in all of those races,” Bryans said.

The second novice eight followed that with a just-under-two-second win over the Spartans, finishing with a 7:09.4 time, before the novice eight won its race with a 6:57.1 mark.

“I was the most proud of our novice eights,” Bryans added. “It was the first racing experience for many of those women and they have put in an incredible amount of work for nine months in preparation for this day. To come out with wins in both races was superb and goes to show that hard work and persistence in the face of adversity can pay off! Congratulations to their coaches Kristin Haraldsdottir and Megan Cooke Carcagno.”

The Badger women return to competition in two weeks, May 19, at the Big Ten Championships in Indianapolis, Ind. The overall team winner at the regatta will receive the conference's automatic qualifying bid for the NCAA championships.

Wisconsin Lineups
Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Kendall Schmidt, Jackie Koykkar, Hanna Lynch, Anne Rauschert, Elizabeth Schoenfeldt, Monica Whitehouse, Amy Slesar, Katie Hanes. Katelyn Swanson
Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Clare Chandler, Lauren Pietila, Kaitlyn Muench, Laine Maher, Leah Gustafson, Kristine Kammers, Pam Schommer, Jena Wilder, Melanie Moranski

Varsity Four
: Coxswain: Marie Hebert, Nicole Hettman, Kaitlin Dunn, Stephanie Malchine, Rachel Gendreau

Second Varsity Four: Coxswain: Kate Condon, Carly Orwin, Kelsey Kramer, Libby O'Rourke, Emma Allmann

Third Varsity Four (UW B): Coxswain: Olivia Starr, Sierra Fischer, Marlee Piette, Julia Whittet, Kelly McGarry

First Novice Eight: Coxswain: Jordan Weiss, Merritt Denham, Margo Grover, Laura Rudolph, Alexa Callahan, Brianna Dahm, Sarah Larson, Kellyn Cameron, Nicole Brandt

Second Novice Eight: Coxswain: Olivia Starr, Emilie Johnston, Hannah Schwartz, Taylor Vande Zande, Kristen Romes, Anna Knutson, Sophie Carr, Masayo Engel, Alexis Moening

Third Novice Eight (UW B): Cowswain: Kate Condon, Madison Shepley, Frances LaBudda, Nicole Dorn, Amanda Bauer, Janae Hochmuth, Emily Swift, Jennifer Kapinus, Kate Bednarke

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago