UW Health Sports Medicine 

On Fire: Badgers sweep Minnesota, capture Burnin' Blade


ST. PAUL, Minn.  – The No. 15 Wisconsin women’s rowing team made the most of its final tune-up before the Big Ten Championships on May 18, reclaiming the Burnin’ Blade from Minnesota while winning each of the day’s eight races.

“It was a beautiful day for racing, and the sun was definitely shining on the Badgers this morning,” said head coach Bebe Bryans. “We were able to bring back the Burnin’ Blade and be victorious in the Border Battle. We’re really proud of that.”

The second varsity eight got the day started right for UW, posting a 6:22.90 time that was nearly six seconds faster than the Gophers. After the third varsity four, second novice eight and second varsity four all followed suit with wins of their own, the varsity eight claimed the Burnin’ Blade for Wisconsin after finishing 11.63 seconds ahead of UM at 6:11.80.

The Blade, which goes to the winner of the first varsity eight, returns to the Wisconsin trophy case after a one-year absence. After winning the trophy in each of the first two years of its existence, the Badgers were upset by Minnesota last year.

The first varsity four kept the wins coming for Wisconsin, turning in a 7:00.00 that topped Minnesota by 9.99 seconds.

Minutes later, the first novice eight captured UW’s second trophy of the day, crossing the line 17.52 seconds ahead of the Gophers to earn ‘The Hammer’.

The first novice four capped off the action with a 7:30.00, 42.29 seconds ahead of Minnesota.

“The freshmen four had the biggest margin, and it was a lot of those kids’ first race as Badgers, so I have to give them some extra kudos for finishing the day off strong for us,” Bryans said.

The Badgers get next weekend off before heading to Indianapolis for the Big Ten Championships.

“Our goal was to win as many events as we could, and we prevailed in that one,” Bryans said. “The second goal was to use this as a dress rehearsal for the Big Ten Championships. In watching the boats race, I think it was overall our best racing performance of the season.”

vs. Minnesota
Lake Phalen
St. Paul, Minn.
2000 Meters
May 4, 2014

First Varsity Eight
1. Wisconsin, 6:11.80; 2. Minnesota, 6:23.43  
Coxswain Marie Hebert, Gillian Cooper, Monica Whitehouse, Hannah Schwartz, Kristine Kammers, Steph Malchine, Anne Rauschert, Libby O'Rourke, Brianna Dahm

First Varsity Four
1. Wisconsin, 7:00.00
; 2. Minnesota, 7:09.99
Coxswain Katherine Condon, Sophie Heywood, Kelsey Kramer, Katie Muench, Anna Knutson

Second Varsity Eight
1. Wisconsin, 6:22.90; 2. Minnesota, 6:28.75
Coxswain Katherine Moy, Laine Maher, Nicole Hettmann, Jena Wilder, Leah Gustafson, Frances LaBudda, Pamela Schommer, Rachel Gendreau, Margo Grover

First Novice Eight
1. Wisconsin, 6:34.20; 2. Minnesota, 6:51.72
Coxswain Dianne Maglaque, Sarah Lueken, Madeleine Wanamaker, Andrea French, Dani Steinberg, Kelly Manion, Claire Scott, Kaitlin McKeogh, Maria Schmid

Second Novice Eight
1. Wisconsin, 6:53.90;
2. Minnesota, 7:14.81
Coxswain Jane Movrich, Molly Donnellan, Alison Miron, Nicole Bednarz, Helena Dziadowicz, Elizabeth Ohvall, Sophia Vitas, Emily Diaz, Amanda Morris

Second Varsity Four
1. Wisconsin, 7:12.70;
2. Minnesota, 7:28.27
Coxswain Elissa Raduazzo, Kelly McGarry, Merritt Denham, Erin Mans, Kaitlin Dunn

Third Varsity Four
1. Wisconsin, 7:40.60;
2. Minnesota, 7:47.41
Coxswain Tela Zembsch, Marlee Piette, Sophie Carr, Lucia Kissinger, Charlotte Keleske

First Novice Four
1. Wisconsin, 7:30.00;
2. Minnesota, 8:12.29
Coxswain Dianne Maglaque, Anne Lewandowski, Marissa Hoyer, Samantha Stecha, Anika Nelson

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago