UW Health Sports Medicine 

Rowers open season at San Diego Crew Classic

<b>The women's rowing team opened the spring season at the San Diego Crew Classic</b>

The women's rowing team opened the spring season at the San Diego Crew Classic

April 8, 2013

MADISON, Wis. – The Wisconsin women’s rowing team opened its spring season at the San Diego Crew Classic on Saturday and Sunday, April 6-7.

The Badgers started competition on Saturday with the varsity eight prelims, finishing in fourth with a time of 6:38.57. Wisconsin just narrowly missed out on a third-place finish and berth in the grand final by less than three seconds. Racing in the petite final on Sunday, the Badgers crossed the line first in 6:42.40.

“We took a lot of strokes and learned a month worth of lessons in two days,” said head coach Bebe Bryans. “The second varsity eight had their best race on Saturday, and the varsity eight on Sunday, but both boats rowed well. It was great to be a part of this historic regatta, and as usual it was impeccably well run.”

In the second varsity eight, Wisconsin finished with a time of 6:54.30 in the prelims to earn a trip to the grand final. The Badgers then knocked off nine seconds on its prelim time, but still had to settle for a sixth-place finish on Sunday.

Wisconsin will be back on the water Saturday, April 13, at the Big Ten Double Dual in Iowa City, Iowa.

Varsity Eight Prelim B Results
USC – 6:24.45
Cal – 6:26.36
Duke – 6:35.11
Wisconsin – 6:38.57
Purdue – 6:48.37
Iowa – 6:53.10

Varsity Eight Petite Final
Wisconsin – 6:42.40
Washington – 6:47.51
Iowa – 6:44.13
Texas – 6:48.19
Purdue – 6:54.35

Second Varsity Eight Prelim A Results
Cal – 6:46.45
Wisconsin – 6:54.30
Washington St. – 6:57.64
Iowa – 7:04.95
KSU – 7:13.40
SMU – 7:35.15

Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
USC – 6:32.41
Cal – 6:37.43
Washington – 6:38.04
Virginia – 6:38.88
UCLA – 6:39.03
Wisconsin – 6:45.31

Wisconsin Lineups
Varsity Eight: Kendall Schmidt, Monica Whitehouse, Amy Slesar, Laine Maher, Katelyn Swanson, Kristine Kammers, Pamela Schommer, Katherine Hanes, Hanna Lynch.  

Second Varsity Eight: Clare Chandler, Lauren Pietila, Katie Muench, Jacquelyn Koykkar, Leah Gustafson, Anne Rauschert , Elizabeth Schoenfeldt, Jena Wilder, Melanie Moranski.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago