UW Health Sports Medicine 

Decker takes top award, Badgers honored at Buckinghams

ON WISCONSIN <b>Geena Prough accepted Brianna Decker's student-athlete of the year award at the Buckinghams.</b>
Geena Prough accepted Brianna Decker's student-athlete of the year award at the Buckinghams.

May 3, 2011

• Buckinghams Backstage Small Video Graphic  |  Watch the Show Small Video Graphic

MADISON, Wis. – Sophomore Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.) led the list of honorees as the women’s hockey team claimed several awards at last week’s Buckinghams, Wisconsin’s annual student-athlete showcase of excellence. Decker took home one of the program’s top awards, as she was named UW’s female student-athlete of the year.

The male and female student-athlete of the year awards are voted on by the student-athletes themselves. The award reflects the student-athletes’ commitments in the classroom, in athletics and in the community. Each year, the nominees come from the Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) student-athlete of the month candidates.

Decker joined Tim Aghai from men’s rowing in receiving Wisconsin’s top student-athlete award at this year’s Buckinghams. Decker was not present to accept her award because of her participation in the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) world women's championship with the U.S. national team in Zurich, Switzerland, but teammate Geena Prough (Farmington, Mich.) accepted the award on her behalf.

In addition to Decker, four other Badger women’s hockey players were honored for their academic achievements at the annual awards ceremony.

Carla Pentimone (Chicago, Ill.) took home the women’s hockey team’s community service award. These award recipients were selected by their coaches for completing the most community service hours on their respective teams. Pentimone’s volunteer hours this season included wheelchair hockey, sled hockey and Second Harvest Foodbank among others.

Pentimone was also recognized as the women’s hockey team’s 2010 Athletic Board Scholar for having the highest grade-point average on the team during the 2009-10 season. Athletic Board Scholars must have sophomore standing and be a letterwinner. Last year’s award was calculated after the spring 2010 grade point averages were finalized, and the award winners were honored at this year’s Buckinghams.

Junior Carolyne Prevost (Sarnia, Ontario) joined Pentimone in being honored as Chi Alpha Sigma Student-Athlete Honor Society inductees. To receive this award, student-athletes must have at least junior standing with at least a 3.4 cumulative GPA and be a letterwinner in their respective sport.

Junior Brittany Haverstock (Hammonds Plains, Nova Scotia) received one of 10 performance awards. Student-athletes were nominated for this award by their academic advisors and learning specialists for their academic work and constant improvement. Haverstock is a Sociology major.

Becca Ruegsegger (Lakewood, Colo.) was also recognized at the Buckinghams. The sophomore was one of three student-athletes honored with a 4.0 recognition award, given to any student with a 4.0 cumulative GPA in at least their sophomore year. Ruegsegger, an African Languages and Literature major, also received the NCAA Elite 88 award this season, honored as the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average participating at 2011 NCAA Women’s Frozen Four.

Wisconsin vs. Ohio State
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago