UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badger trio honored at Frozen Four reception

<b>Carolyne Prévost won the NCAA's Elite 89 award, given to the top student-athlete at each of the NCAA's 89 championships.</b>

Carolyne Prévost won the NCAA's Elite 89 award, given to the top student-athlete at each of the NCAA's 89 championships.

March 15, 2012

DULUTH, Minn. – Three Wisconsin women’s hockey players were honored at the 2012 NCAA Frozen Four championship reception on Thursday night in Duluth, Minn. Brianna Decker and Hilary Knight were named 2012 CCM Division I Women’s Hockey All-Americans and Carolyne Prévost was named a recipient of the NCAA’s Elite 89 award.

Decker was tabbed as a first-team All-American and Knight was a second-team honoree. The award marks the second All-American award for Decker; Knight picked up her third award after also being chosen as a first-team honoree in 2009 and 2011.  The Badgers have had 11 players earn 20 All-American awards since 2001.

Earlier this season, Decker and Knight took home All-WCHA First and Second Team honors, respectively. Decker was also named the WCHA Player of the Year. Both received looks for the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, and Decker is a top-three finalist for the award.

The NCAA’s Elite 89 award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 89 championships. The award recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers.

Prévost has a 3.78 grade point average in kinesiology. She was honored as a WCHA Scholar Athlete and named to the All-WCHA Academic team this season. The senior is also fourth on the team this season in points with 26 goals and 30 assists.

The Badgers will take on Boston College tomorrow in the semifinals of the Women’s Frozen Four. The game is set to begin at 5 p.m. at AMSOIL Arena in Duluth, Minn.

Wisconsin vs. Ohio State
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago