UW Health Sports Medicine 

Three Badgers earn All-WCHA recognition

<b>Brianna Decker earns her third All-WCHA First Team honor</b>

Brianna Decker earns her third All-WCHA First Team honor

March 7, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS - Three Wisconsin women's hockey players earned All-WCHA honors at the Western Collegiate Hockey Association awards program, held at TCF Bank Stadium Thursday night.

For the third-straight year, Brianna Decker was named to the All-WCHA First Team. Decker currently leads the Badgers with 29 goals (sixth in the nation) and 26 assists. She was also named a top-10 finalist for the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, and currently ranks eighth all-time in the NCAA for career points (244), seventh for career goals (115) and 15th for career assists (129).

Junior netminder Alex Rigsby was named to the All-WCHA Second Team for the second year in a row. This season Rigsby has the third-best save percentage in the nation (.943), and is the foundation of the Badgers' defense which is averaging only 1.50 goals against per game, third best in the country. She has also started in all of the Badgers' 34 games this season and leads the nation in percentage of minutes played.

Defenseman Courtney Burke rounds out the trio, earning All-WCHA Rookie Team honors. In her first season with the Badgers, Burke leads both the team's freshmen and defensemen in both points (23) and assists (19). She has been a mainstay on the Wisconsin blue line all year, recording a +18 plus/minus.

Additionally, eight Badgers earned All-WCHA Academic Team honors: Brittany Ammerman, Natalie Berg, Jordan Brickner, Ilana Friedman, Katy Josephs, Alev Kelter, Stefanie McKeough and Alex Rigsby. To qualifty for the All-WCHA Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at their present institution prior to the current academic year and have a grade-point average of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.

The WCHA Final Face-Off begins tomorrow afternoon with Wisconsin taking on North Dakota at 4 p.m. at Ridder Arena.

2013 WCHA Individual Awards
Player of the Year: Amanda Kessel
Oustanding Student Athlete of the Year: Jocelyne Lamoureux
Defensive Player of the Year: Megan Bozek
Rookie of the Year: Hannah Brandt
Scoring Champion: Amanda Kessel
Goaltending Champion: Noora Räty
Coach of the Year: Brad Frost

2012-13 All-WCHA First Team
 Name  Year  Position  School
 Amanda Kessel  Junior  Forward  Minnesota
 Brianna Decker  Senior  Forward  Wisconsin
 Hannah Brandt  Freshman  Forward  Minnesota
 Megan Bozek  Junior  Defenseman  Minnesota
 Monique Lamoureux  Senior  Defenseman  North Dakota
 Noora Räty  Sophomore  Goaltender  Minnesota
2012-13 All-WCHA Second Team
 Name  Year  Position  School
 Jocelyne Lamoureux  Senior  Forward  North Dakota
 Michelle Karvinen  Junior  Forward  North Dakota
 Jenna McParland  Sophomore  Forward  Minnesota Duluth
 Bridgette Lacquette  Sophomore  Defenseman  Minnesota Duluth
 Jessica Wong  Senior  Defenseman  Minnesota Duluth
 Alex Rigsby  Junior  Goaltender  Wisconsin
2012-13 All-WCHA Third Team
 Name  Year  Position  School
 Lauren Smith  Senior  Forward  Minnesota State
 Josefine Jakobsen  Sophomore  Forward  North Dakota
 Kelly Terry  Junior  Forward  Minnesota
 Mira Jalosuo  Senior  Defenseman  Minnesota
 Rachel Ramsey  Sophomore  Defenseman  Minnesota
 Kayla Black  Freshman  Goaltender  Minnesota Duluth
2012-13 All-WCHA Rookie Team
 Name  Year  Position  School
 Hannah Brandt  Freshman  Forward  Minnesota
 Maryanne Menefee  Freshman  Forward  Minnesota
 Meghan Dufault  Freshman  Forward  North Dakota
 Milica McMillen  Freshman  Defenseman  Minnesota
 Courtney Burke  Freshman   Defenseman  Wisconsin
 Kayla Black  Freshman  Goaltender  Minnesota Duluth
Wisconsin vs. Ohio State
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago