UW Health Sports Medicine 

Knight and Decker contend for Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award



March 4, 2012

MADSION, Wis. - With the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award ceremony just two weeks away, women's hockey captain Hilary Knight and assistant captain Brianna Decker are among the 10 remaining finalists for women's hockey most prestigious individual honor.

UWBadgers.com caught up with the two Badger forwards to give fans some insight into the personalities of Knight and Decker.

Hilary Knight's credentials
Three-time Patty Kazmaier top-10 finalist (2009, 2011, 2012) ... 2012 All-WCHA First Team ... all-time points leader at UW and fourth all-time in NCAA DI women's hockey history with 258 career points ... also holds UW career records for goals (140) game-winning goals (28) and power-play goals (36) ... sits in the top-10 in UW career records for short-handed goals (7) and assists (118)... recorded an 11-game scoring streak (Oct. 29 - Dec. 10) totaling 14 goals and nine assists ... has 16 multi-point games, six multi-goals games and seven multi-assist games this season ... leads the nation with eight game-winning goals ... tied for fourth in the nation with three short-handed goals ... 19th in the nation with 1.51 points per game, scoring 28 goals and 28 assists in 37 games ... has been on the ice for 83 UW goals, including 33 power-play goals and 13 game-winners this year.

Brianna Decker's credentials
2012 WCHA Offensive Player of the Year and All-WCHA First Team ... set Wisconsin's record for longest scoring streak at 32-consecutive games ... leads the nation with 36 goals ... second in the nation with 78 points ... averaging 2.11 points per game with 36 goals and 42 assists in 37 games ... 11th in the country with five game-winning goals ... tied for 16th in the nation with seven power-play goals ... has 24 multi-point games, 12 multi-assist games and nine multi-goal games this season ... recorded four hat tricks this year ... sits fourth all-time at UW with 185 career points ... present on the ice for 112 Badger goals, including 31 power-play goals and 13 game-winners.

The 10 remaining nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists, which will be announced March 8. This year's recipient will be announced live at a brunch ceremony in Duluth, Minn. on March 17.

Wisconsin vs. Ohio State
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago