UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers take home multiple honors from WCHA banquet

ON WISCONSIN <b>Stefanie McKeough was named the 2012 WCHA Defensive Player of the Year as well as eanding All-WCHA Second Team honors</b>
Stefanie McKeough was named the 2012 WCHA Defensive Player of the Year as well as eanding All-WCHA Second Team honors

March 1, 2012

DULUTH, Minn. - A total of five Wisconsin women's hockey players earned All-WCHA honors, highlighted by Brianna Decker taking home the league's top honor as the 2012 WCHA Player of the Year Thursday night at the conference awards ceremony in Duluth, Minn.
Decker also earned All-WCHA First Team honors, having been named a 2012 Patty Kazmaier Award top-10 finalist earlier in the day. Decker currently leads the nation with 35 goals and totaled 54 points in 28 conference games this season.
Junior defenseman Stefanie McKeough was named the Defensive Player of the Year and sophomore Alex Rigsby took home the league's Goaltending Champion award. McKeough scored four goals and tallied 14 assists for 18 points in 19 league contests during the regular season. Rigsby led the WCHA with a 1.47 goals-against average, a .951 save percentage and went 23-3-2 in league play. Both McKeough and RIgsby were also named All-WCHA Second Team.
Senior forward Hilary Knight joined Decker among the four forwards awarded All-WCHA First Team honors. In 28 WCHA games, Knight had 43 points (22G, 21A) and seven of her eight game-winning goals came against league competition.
Brooke Ammerman was named All-WCHA Third Team after collecting 52 points (20G, 32A) in 28 conference games this season. Ammerman most recently recorded her third four-goal game as she recorded a natural hat trick against Minnesota State on Feb. 24.
Head coach Mark Johnson rounded out the awards being named the WCHA Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career.
A total of 98 student-athletes were also named to the All-WCHA Academic Team, which included Brittany Ammerman, Natalie Berg, Brittany Haverstock, Alev Kelter, Stefanie McKeough, Carolyne Prévost and Alex Rigsby. To qualifty for the All-WCHA Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one year of eligibility at their present institution prior to the current academic year and have a grade-point average of at least 3.0 for the previous two semesters or three quarters.
The WCHA Final Face-Off commences tomorrow afternoon with Wisconsin taking on host Minnesota Duluth at 4:30 p.m. at Amsoil Arena.

Wisconsin vs. Ohio State
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago