UW Health Sports Medicine 

Women's golf team selected for NCAA Regional

ON WISCONSIN <b>The UW women's golf team will compete in the NCAA Central Regional May 9-11 at Oklahoma</b>
The UW women's golf team will compete in the NCAA Central Regional May 9-11 at Oklahoma

April 29, 2013


INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Regionals tonight and the Badger women's team is one of them.

Three regional tournaments will be conducted May 9-11 to determine the championships field. The Badgers will compete in the Central regional played at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Course in Norman, Okla. Oklahoma will host.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

This is the first NCAA regional participation for Wisconsin since 2011. That team, consisting of current players Kris Yoo, Alexis Nelson and Lindsay Danielson, finished 15th with 314-305-310–929.

Including 2011, the Badgers have competed in the NCAA regional four times finishing tied for 10th in 1994 with 323-314-322–959; UW was 12th in 2002 with 324-319-305–948; and sixth in 2003 306-303-321–930. The 2003 team was the only Badger team to qualify for the national championship where it finished 24th with 340-316-323-312–1291.

Wisconsin is coming off a strong showing at the Big Ten Championships where it finished sixth with a 53-over par 305-311-301=917. Nelson led the Badgers tying for 12th with 74-75-76=225.

The NCAA championships finals will be held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga. and will be hosted by Georgia.

Central Regional Teams and Individuals
1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)     1. Fanny Cnops, UNC-Greensboro
2. Oklahoma                                      2. Lori Beth Adams, UNC-Wilmington
3. Florida                                           3. Emma Henrikson, San Diego State
4. Washington                                    4. Julia Roth, Central Arkansas
5. Arizona State                                 5. Paige Spiranic, San Diego State
6. UC Davis (Big West Conference)      6. Christine Wong, San Diego State
7. Texas Tech      
8. North Carolina State      
9. Michigan State      
10. Iowa State      
11. Southern Methodist      
12. Campbell      
13. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)      
14. Wake Forest      
15. TCU      
16. Gonzaga      
17. Indiana      
18. UTSA      
19. Mississippi State      
20. Wisconsin      
21. Lamar (Southland Conference)      
22. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)      
23. Detroit (Horizon League)      
24. Butler (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago