UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers earn NCAA Women's Golf Regional bid


April 28, 2014


INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division I Women's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Regionals tonight and the Badger women's team is one of them.

Three regional tournaments with 24 teams at each site will be conducted May 8-10 to determine the final 24-team championships field. The Badgers are the 16th seed in the West Regional played at Tumble Creek Club at Suncadia Resort in Cle Elum, Washington. The University of Washington will serve as the host.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

This is the second-straight NCAA regional participation for Wisconsin. Last season at the University of Oklahoma, the 20th-seeded Badgers finished seventh and got the final Central Regional berth to the NCAA championship with a 19-over par 292-303-288=883. It was just the second NCAA championship appearance in program history. Then-junior Kris Yoo walked off the final green at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club with a school and course record round of 7-under par 65. Yoo finished the tournament at 1-over par 72-80-65=217 to tie for 11th place individually.

Including 2014, the Badgers have competed in the NCAA regional six times. UW's 2011 regional qualifying team finished 15th with 314-305-310-929. The 1994 team finished tied for 10th with 323-314-322-959; UW was 12th in 2002 with 324-319-305-948; and sixth in 2003 306-303-321-930.

With the 2013 regional finish, the Badgers earned the program's first trip back to the national stage in a decade. Prior to 2013, Wisconsin's last appearance at an NCAA championship came during the 2002-03 season.

The 2003 team finished 24th with 340-316-323-312-1291. In 2013, UW improved to finish 23rd with the final score of 66-over par 301-309-297-311--1218. That total ranks fourth all-time in school history for 72-hole tournaments.

Four members of the 2013 national qualifying team return including seniors Kris Yoo and Alexis Nelson and juniors Kimberly Dinh and Aaren Ziegler. They are joined by freshman Brooke Ferrell who this year will set the freshman scoring record at Wisconsin with her 74.89 strokes per round.

Wisconsin is coming off a strong showing at the Big Ten Championships where it finished sixth with a 50-over par 316-305-293=914. Farrell led the Badgers finishing fourth with a 5-over par 78-75-68--221. It was the best individual finish by a Badger in the conference meet since 2004.

Five Big Ten teams were selected for regional play. In addition to the Badgers, seventh-seeded Northwestern and eighth-seeded Michigan State will compete in the West Regional. Ninth-seeded Ohio State and 19th-seeded Minnesota will head to the Central Regional in Stillwater, Okla.

The NCAA championships finals will be held May 22-23 at the Tulsa Country Club in Tulsa, Okla.

1. Southern California
2. Arizona State University
3. Oklahoma (Big 12)
4. Washington
5. Clemson
6. Wake Forest
7. Northwestern
8. Michigan State (Big Ten)
9. Iowa State
10. GRU-Augusta
11. Oregon
12. Texas A&M
13. UC Davis (Big West)
14. Denver
15. San Diego State
16. Wisconsin
17. Gonzaga
18. Notre Dame
19. Tennessee
20. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
21. New Mexico (Mountain West)
22. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Portland State (Big Sky)
24. Detroit (Horizon)

1. Alison Knowles, Louisiana-Monroe
2. Regan De Guzman, San Jose State
3. Clariss Guce, Cal State Northridge
4. Fabiola Arriaga, UTSA
5. Madchen Ly, Fresno State
6. Alexandra White, BYU

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago