UW Health Sports Medicine 

Wisconsin holds steady at ninth place through second round in Dallas

<b>Kris Yoo moved into a tie for 20th place individually with a team-low 75 on Saturday.</b>

Kris Yoo moved into a tie for 20th place individually with a team-low 75 on Saturday.

April 6, 2013

DALLAS -- The University of Wisconsin women’s golf team held steady at ninth place through the second round of the 54-hole SMU/Dallas Athletic Club Invitational on Saturday in Dallas. The Badgers shot a 25-over par 313 second round for a 53-over par 316-313--629.

Climbing the leaderboards to claim the second-day lead was Oklahoma State, which finished the day with a 24-over par 305-295=600. Oklahoma State began the day in a tie for sixth place, but made a big jump on Saturday at the 54-hole tournament hosted by SMU and held at the Dallas Athletic Club.

A big reason for the Cowgirls second-round surge was Julie Yang, who carded a 4-under par 68 and lowered her 36-hole total to 6-under par 70-68=138 to gain the individual lead. The nation’s No. 15 individual golfer, Chirapat Jao-Javanli, of Oklahoma slipped to second place with a 2-over par 69-77=146, while No. 77 Amy Meier of Ohio State came in third with her 4-over par 72-76=148.

All five individuals competing for Wisconsin moved into the top-50 individual standings, as Lindsay Danielson, Kimberly Dinh, Alexis Nelson, Kris Yoo and Aaren Ziegler teed off their second round of golf.

Yoo kept pace for the Badgers through the second day, carding a team-low 3-over par 75 through the second day and moved into a tie for 20th place with a 10-over par 79-75=154 total. The junior from Schaumburg, Ill., carded four birdies on the day, while also recording seven bogies. 

Not far behind was Dinh, who recorded an 8-over par 80 to tie for 24th place and bring her two-day total to 11-over par 75-80=155. Nelson tied for 37th place with a 15-over par 80-79=159, while Danielson (83-79=162) and Ziegler (82-80=162) both tied for 47th place with 18-over pars.

The final round of play gets underway tomorrow with a shotgun start at 8:30 a.m. CT.

Live scoring for the entire event is available at Golfstat.com.


T20 Kris Yoo 79-75=154, +10

T24 Kimberly Dinh 75-80=155, +11

T37 Alexis Nelson 80-79=159, +15

T47 Linsday Danielson 83-79=162, +18

T47 Aaren Ziegler 82-80-162, +18


1 Oklahoma State 305-295=600, +24

2 Denver 296-308=604, +28

3 Oklahoma 295-310=605,  +29

4 Ohio State 299-307=606, +30

5 UTSA 304-308=612, +36

6 Kansas State 294-319=613, +37

7 SMU 305-315=620, +44

8 Notre Dame 319-309=628, +52

9 Wisconsin 316-313=629, +53

10 Louisville 318-318=636, +60

11 Oregon State 313-334=647, +71

12 North Texas 321-330=651, +75

13 Nebraska 334-331=665, +89

14 Missouri State 337-330=667, +91

15 Marshall 342-334=676, +100

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago