UW Health Sports Medicine 

Covington, Jefferson named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners

<b>Anya Covington was a three-time team captain for the Badgers.</b>

Anya Covington was a three-time team captain for the Badgers.

May 30, 2012

MADISON, Wis. – Women’s basketball player Anya Covington and men’s track and field athlete Kyle Jefferson have been recognized by the Big Ten Conference as the University of Wisconsin’s Outstanding Sportsman Award winners for 2011-12, the conference office announced Wednesday.

They were chosen from the 23 Badger student-athletes, one from each team, selected as Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners this season.  

Covington, a senior forward, was a three-time team captain and earned consensus honorable mention All-Big Ten honors in 2012. The Edwardsville, Ill., native was member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, National Society of Collegiate Scholars, National Society of Leadership and Success, Student-Athletes Equally Supporting Others and was a student-athlete representative on the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Issues Committee. A two-time recipient of her team’s sportsmanship award, Covington played in more than 120 games in her career.

Jefferson, a senior sprinter, was a team captain for the Badgers this season and played an integral role in UW’s first Big Ten outdoor championship since 2007. The Cleveland, Ohio, native scored in four events for the Badgers on the final day of the Big Ten championships, including aiding UW to a second-place finish in the title-clinching and school record-setting 4x400 relay. Jefferson also won a Big Ten title during his senior season in football in 2010. Heavily involved in student-athlete organizations, Jefferson was a member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and Student-Athletes Equally Supporting Others at UW.

Covington and Jefferson were chosen from a group of 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who displayed positive sportsmanship. One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected.

All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.
2012 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Nathan Scheelhaase, Football
Rachel Japp-Joyce, Swimming and Diving

Jordan Hulls, Basketball
Amanda Wagner, Softball

Matt Gatens, Basketball
Betsy Flood, Track and Field

Jordan Kovacs, Football
Courtney Boylan, Basketball

Michigan State
Kirk Cousins, Football
Jenilee Rathje, Volleyball

Taylor Matson, Ice Hockey
Anne Schleper, Ice Hockey

Chris Phipps, Track and Field
Kaitlyn Burke, Basketball

Sam Chien, Golf
Devynn Patterson, Fencing

Ohio State
Andrew Sweat, Football
Liz Sullivan, Soccer

Penn State
Scott Rosenthal, Gymnastics
Natalie Ettl, Gymnastics

Joe Haase, Baseball
Ashley Courtney, Softball

Kyle Jefferson, Track and Field
Anya Covington, Basketball

Season Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago