UW Health Sports Medicine 

Schrobilgen honored as Big Ten Cross Country Athlete of the Year


Nov. 6, 2013

MADISON, Wis. -- After winning the individual Big Ten Conference title Sunday finishing the 8-kilometer course in 24 minutes, 16.9 seconds, redshirt freshman Malachy Schrobilgen was honored with a pair of awards when the league announced its postseason award winners Wednesday.

The Oak Park, Ill., native was voted the league's Athlete of the Year, as well as the Freshman of the Year, making him the first Badger in school history to claim both honors in the same cross country season. Schrobilgen is only the third athlete to achieve the feat since the Big Ten began giving out awards in 1987, joining Michigan's Kevin Sullivan (1993) and Indiana's Bob Kennedy (1988).

Schrobilgen takes home the ninth men's Freshman of the Year award in program history and is the first since Drew Shields earned the distinction in 2010. He is also the 12th Badger to earn Athlete of the Year honors, and the first since Mohammed Ahmed in 2011.

In total, Wisconsin has claimed 11 of the past 16 Athlete of the Year awards and seven of the last 13 Freshman of the Year honors.

In addition, senior Jacob Naylor was honored as the Badgers' Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner. The award is given to one student-athlete from each team who distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Indiana's Ron Helmer earned the Big Ten's annual coaching honor after guiding the Hoosiers to their first conference championship since 1980.

The Badgers, ranked No. 19 in the latest U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association poll, host the 2013 NCAA Great Lakes Regional on Nov. 15 at the Zimmer Championship Course. UW has won 11 straight regional titles, including five in a row under Byrne's leadership.

Wisconsin looks to advance to the NCAA championships on Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind., for an NCAA-record 42nd-straight appearance.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago