UW Health Sports Medicine 

Meet Notes: Big Ten Championship



Oct. 30, 2011

Recap |  Results |  Photo Gallery 

Post-Meet Notes
2011 Big Ten Championship
Oct. 30, 2011
University of Illinois Arboretum - Urbana, Ill.

Team Notes
• Wisconsin won its 13th-consecutive Big Ten Conference team title, extending a streak that began in 1999. UW’s run of 13 straight crowns is the longest title streak in conference history.

• The Badgers’ winning team score of 17 points tied the second-lowest winning score in Big Ten history, with the league record of 16 also set by Wisconsin in 2005 (A score of 15 represents a perfect 1-2-3-4-5 finish). Michigan State also scored 17 points to win the conference title in 1959.

• During its run of 13 consecutive Big Ten titles, Wisconsin has scored 25 or fewer points four times (25 in 2002; 23 in 2004; 17 in 2011; 16 in 2005).

• Wisconsin’s average winning score over its run of 13-straight Big Ten championships is 29.7.

• UW claimed its 45th all-time Big Ten crown in the 95-year history of the league’s championship meet (claiming 47.4 percent of the possible team titles). Michigan State has the second-most championships in conference history with 14.

• Since the late Dan McClimon won his first title as UW head coach in 1977, the Badgers have claimed 30 of the last 35 Big Ten championships (85.7 percent).

• Since the Big Ten permanently moved to an 8-kilometer championship race in 1985, Wisconsin has claimed 24 of the league’s 27 team championships (88.9 percent).

• The Badgers have won each of the last four Big Ten championship meets contested in Champaign, Ill. (2011, 2001, 1992, 1983). UW has finished first or second in seven of the nine conference meets hosted by the Illini all-time.

Individual Notes
• Junior Mohammed Ahmed became the ninth Wisconsin runner to claim an individual Big Ten crown in the last 13 years.

• All-time, UW has claimed a Big Ten-record 28 individual conference championships. Indiana ranks No. 2 in league history with 16 individual champions.

• Mohammed Ahmed set a Big Ten meet record for an 8-kilometer course with his winning time of 23:18. The previous record of 23:19.9 was set by Michigan’s Alan Webb in 2001.

• Big Ten champion Mohammed Ahmed, runner-up Maverick Darling and third-place finisher Elliot Krause each earned first-team All-Big Ten honors for the third-consecutive season. Prior to Sunday, only five UW athletes had posted first-team All-Big Ten performances in three straight seasons.

• Ahmed, Darling and Krause became the eighth, ninth and 10th runners in UW history to earn three All-Big Ten first team nods in their careers.

Coaching Notes
• UW head coach Mick Byrne extended his streak of consecutive conference championships to 21. Byrne won 17 straight Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference championships at Iona College before winning Big Ten crowns in each of his first four seasons at Wisconsin (2008-2011).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago