UW Health Sports Medicine 

Post-Meet Notes: Big Ten Championship



Recap |  Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

Post-Meet Notes
2012 Big Ten Championship
Oct. 28, 2012
Forest Akers East Course – East Lansing, Mich.

Team Notes
• Wisconsin won its 14th-consecutive Big Ten Conference team title, extending a streak that began in 1999. UW’s run of 14 straight crowns is the longest title streak in conference history.

• The Badgers won with a team score of 33 points.

• UW claimed its 46th all-time Big Ten crown in the 95-year history of the league’s championship meet (claiming over 47 percent of the possible team titles). Michigan State has the second-most championships in conference history with 14.

• Since the late Dan McClimon won his first title as UW head coach in 1977, the Badgers have claimed 31 of the last 36 Big Ten championships (86.1 percent).

• Since the Big Ten permanently moved to an 8-kilometer championship race in 1985, Wisconsin has claimed 25 of the league’s 28 team championships (89.3 percent).

• The Badgers won the last Big Ten championship meet contested in East Lansing, Mich. (2003). UW has finished first or second in three of the five conference meets hosted by the Spartans all-time.

Individual Notes
• Big Ten runner-up Maverick Darling, third-place finisher Mohammed Ahmed, sixth-place finisher Reed Connor and seventh-place finisher Rob Finnerty each earned first-team All-Big Ten honors.

Mohammed Ahmed and Maverick Darling are the seventh and eighth runners in Big Ten history to earn first-team All-Big Ten accolades in four consecutive seasons and join Jason Casiano (1991-94) and Chris Solinsky (2003-06) as the only Badgers to accomplish such a feat.

Reed Connor claimed his second-consecutive All-Big Ten performance, while Rob Finnerty claimed his first.

Coaching Notes
• UW head coach Mick Byrne extended his streak of consecutive conference championships to 22. Byrne won 17 straight Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference championships at Iona College before winning Big Ten crowns in each of his first five seasons at Wisconsin (2008-2012).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago