UW Health Sports Medicine 

Behind Brill, Badgers win ninth-consecutive meet title

<b>Junior Alex Brill led UW, finishing third overall in a time of 24:40.</b>

Junior Alex Brill led UW, finishing third overall in a time of 24:40.

Sept. 29, 2012

Complete Results Open PDF

MADISON, Wis. -- The No. 1-ranked Wisconsin men's cross country team won its ninth-consecutive team title Saturday with a victory at the 40th-annual Sean Earl Lakefront Invitational in Chicago.
The Badgers finished the 8-kilometer race with a team score of 51 points, claiming three of the top five spots.
Junior Alex Brill led UW, finishing third overall with a time of 24 minutes, 40 seconds. Brill has made a strong case to make the Badgers’ travel team with a strong start to the season. He also claimed the individual title in the 6.3-kilometer Badger Opener in a time of 18:50 on Sept. 7.
Sophomores Jake Erschen and Michael Van Voorhis placed fourth and fifth, crossing the finish line at 24:46 and 24:48, respectively.
Junior Jacob Naylor finished 20th overall and fourth for UW in a time of 25:25 seconds.  Freshman Sam Hacker rounded out the scoring for UW in 23rd place at 25:33 seconds.
Wisconsin freshman Jack Stapleton finished 25th at 25:38 seconds, while senior Danny Buechel finished 31st at 25:47 seconds.
Southern Illinois earned a second-place team finish with 62 team points. Purdue finished third with 68 points behind freshman Matt McClintock, who won the individual title with a time of 24:32 seconds.
The Badgers race again Friday, Oct. 12, when they return home to host the fourth-annual Wisconsin adidas Invitational at Zimmer Championship Course.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago