Graff, Jordan and Liegel set for championship bouts at Midlands


Dec. 30, 2013

• Results Get    Acrobat  Reader

EVANSTON, Ill. – A trio of Wisconsin wrestlers remain alive at the 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championships in Evanston, Ill., and will wrestle tonight in the finals at 8 p.m. live on BTN.

Three wins, including two by major decision, propelled No. 8 Tyler Graff into the third-place bout at 133 lbs. where he will face No. 1 seeded and No. 1 ranked AJ Schopp of Edinboro. Schopp was knocked into the wrestlebacks by Northern Iowa’s No. 7 Joe Colon. Colon also knocked Graff into the consolation bracket in the senior’s third match of the tournament.

Rylan Lubeck’s run ended with an eighth-place finish at 149 lbs. Lubeck defeated Purdue’s Alex Griffin by decision before suffering a pair of losses.

No. 9 Isaac Jordan wrestled tough against Iowa’s No. 1 Derek St. John, but ultimately came up short, falling 5-3 in the first sudden victory. Jordan will face No. 2-seed Nick Brascetta from Virginia Tech in the fifth-place match at 157 lbs.

One point separated Scott Liegel from the third-place bout at 174 lbs. Liegel lost by a 1-0 decision to Brock Gutches from Southern Oregon and will wrestle Zach Epperly from Virginia Tech for fifth place.

Ricky Robertson’s tournament run came to an end against Iowa’s Sam Brooks at 184 lbs. Robertson posted a 3-2 record in his first Midlands Championships. An injury forced No. 10 Connor Medbery to end his tournament run early. Medbery went 2-1 in action on Sunday.

133 lbs.
#8 Tyler Graff (WIS) maj. dec. Kyle Springer (IND), 21-7
#8 Tyler Graff (WIS) dec. Randy Cruz (UN-Lehigh), 6-1
#7 Joe Colon (UNI) dec. #8 Tyler Graff (WIS), 6-3
#8 Tyler Graff (WIS) maj. dec. Kevin Norstrem (UN-VA Tech), 20-7
#8 Tyler Graff (WIS) maj. dec. #17 Rossi Bruno (MICH), 16-6
#8 Tyler Graff (WIS) dec. Alen Waters (UN-Missouri), 9-3

141 lbs.
Jesse Thielke (WIS) maj. dec. Drew Longo (UN-Lehigh), 14-4
#5 Rick Durso (F&M) dec. Jesse Thielke (WIS), 7-4
Jesse Thielke (WIS) maj. dec. Clay Cathey (NDSU), 13-4
Todd Preston (Harvard) dec. Jesse Thielke (WIS), 6-0

149 lbs.
Neal Molloy (IND) dec. TJ Ruschell (WIS), 4-2
TJ Ruschell (WIS) maj. dec. Elroy Perkin (UWW), 12-3
TJ Ruschell (WIS) maj. dec. Derrick Evanovich (Maryland), 16-4
Brandon Nelsen (PUR) dec. TJ Ruschell (WIS), 7-4

Andrew Crone (UN-WIS) dec. Blake Santi (Harper), 8-1
Brandon Sorensen (IOWA) dec. Andrew Crone (UN-WIS), 6-4
Andrew Crone (UN-WIS) dec. Rob Jillard (NIU), 10-6
Alex Griffin (PUR) dec. Andrew Crone (UN-WIS), 9-5

Rylan Lubeck (WIS) dec. Elroy Perkin (UWW), 4-3
Rylan Lubeck (WIS) dec. Frank Goodwin (Maryland), 3-1
Rylan Lubeck (WIS) fall Darrion Caldwell (RAW), 2:15
Blake Roulo (UN-GM) dec. Rylan Lubeck (WIS), 5-3
Rylan Lubeck (WIS) dec. Alex Griffin (PUR), 2-1
Brody Grothus (IOWA) dec. Rylan Lubeck (WIS), 8-4
Chad Walsh (Rider) dec. Rylan Lubeck (WIS), 5-1

157 lbs.
#9 Isaac Jordan (WIS) maj. dec. Nick Olejnik (NDSU), 12-2
#9 Isaac Jordan (WIS) maj. dec. Tyler Grimaldi (Harvard), 12-3
#9 Isaac Jordan (WIS) fall Chad Ryan (COL), 2:22
#1 Derek St. John (IOWA) dec. #9 Isaac Jordan (WIS), 5-3, SV1
Isaiah Martinez (UN-ILL) dec. #9 Isaac Jordan (WIS), 7-5

165 lbs
#10 Jackson Morse (ILL) dec. Frank Cousins (WIS), 9-2
Frank Cousins (WIS) FFT Kevin Bialka (NU)
Frank Cousins (WIS) dec. Pat Robinson (PUR), 8-2
Devon Gobbo (Harvard) dec. Frank Cousins (WIS), 9-3

Chad Lowman (Grand View) dec. Ben Cox (WIS), 6-2
Jake Davis (E. MICH) fall Ben Cox (WIS), 2:11

174 lbs.
Scott Liegel (WIS) dec. Eric Morris (Harvard), 9-7
Scott Liegel (WIS) dec. Dan Schiferl (UWO), 6-5
Scott Liegel (WIS) dec. Landon Williams (Wartburg), 8-2
#6 Mike Evans (IOWA) maj. dec. Scott Liegel (WIS), 12-4
Scott Liegel (WIS) dec. Collin Zeerip (MICH), 6-2
Scott Liegel (WIS) dec. Monte Schmalhaus (Utah Valley), 5-1
Brock Gutches (S OR) dec. Scott Liegel (WIS), 1-0

184 lbs.
Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS) dec. Deshoun White (SIU), 3-2
#2 Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS), 7-4
Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS) FFT Jackson Hein (WIS)
Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS) dec. Phillip Joseph (E. MICH), 4-1
Sam Brooks (IOWA) dec. Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS), 11-4

Zach Hernandez (COL) dec. Jackson Hein (WIS), 3-2
Jackson Hein (WIS) dec. Caleb Busson (NIU), 3-1
Ricky Robertson (UN-WIS) FFT Jackson Hein (WIS)

197 lbs.
Vince Pickett (Edinboro) maj. dec. Timmy McCall (WIS), 8-0
Willie Miklus (MIZZO) dec. Timmy McCall (WIS), 8-7

#10 Connor Medbery (WIS) TF Alex Macki (UN-SDSU), 15-0 (4:51)
#10 Connor Medbery (WIS) dec. Chris Lopez (ILL), 4-0
#6 JT Felix (BSU) dec. #10 Connor Medbery (WIS), 7-4
Steve Dwyer (Beebe) FFT #10 Connor Medbery (WIS)

Spring Game
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago