UW Health Sports Medicine 

Nuttycombe earns 21st Big Ten Coach of the Year award

ON WISCONSIN <b>Badgers head coach Ed Nuttycombe has led Wisconsin to 25 Big Ten titles in 28 years.</b>
Badgers head coach Ed Nuttycombe has led Wisconsin to 25 Big Ten titles in 28 years.

May 15, 2012

Big Ten Award Winners

MADISON, Wis. -- For the 21st time in his career, Ed Nuttycombe has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

The Wisconsin head coach was announced as a unanimous selection for the award on Tuesday, as the conference handed out its year-end awards for the outdoor season.

Nuttycombe claimed his 25th Big Ten title as Wisconsin's head coach over the weekend, as his Badgers rallied over the final four events to win the conference crown on their home track at the McClimon Complex in Madison.

The championship was the Badgers' first since 2007 and their 13th outdoor title under Nuttycombe's direction. He also has guided Wisconsin to 12 indoor conference championships.

Nuttycombe's coaching honor is his first since being named the league's indoor coach of the year in 2008. He also has been named regional coach of the year nine times by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association and was the USTFCCCA National Coach of the Year in 2007, when he guided UW to the NCAA indoor title.

Also announced Tuesday were first-team All-Big Ten honors for champions Mohammed Ahmed -- who won the 5000 meters in Big Ten meet-record time -- and Dan Block, who claimed the discus crown with a school-record throw.

Second-team All-Big Ten honors went to the second-place 4x400-meter relay team of Garret Payne, Brady Hammon, Kyle Jefferson and Drew Simmons, as well as event runners-up Elliot Krause (10,000 meters), Japheth Cato (pole vault) and Derek Steinbach (javelin).

Jefferson, who scored for UW in four events on the weekend, also was named UW's recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago