UW Health Sports Medicine 

Divers Conclude Season at NCAA Zone Meet



The Wisconsin diving team wrapped up the 2005-06 season and concluded the NCAA Zone C Qualifying Meet Sunday night at the McCorkle Aquatics Pavilion. Senior Amanda Witte led the Badgers by finishing among the top ten in the platform finals.

I was really happy with how Amanda dived, said diving coach Josh Seykora. She went out on a high note.

Witte saved her best performance for the last day, placing eighth on the platform board, earning 446.95 points. Meanwhile, teammate Laura Davidson took 17th (373.20) in the finals, despite sustaining a hand injury earlier this weekend.

On the mens side, Josh Bonner placed 16th (423.85), while twin brother Justin took 17th (421.45) and teammate Kelly Todd earned 18th (401.65).

This weekend was a valuable experience for all of our divers, especially Laura and Kelly, said Seykora. They showed a lot of potential.

While Indiana dominated the Zone by advancing five divers to the NCAA Championships (three women and two men), it was Purdues Carrie McCambridge and Steve LoBue that won the NCAA Zone C.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago