UW Health Sports Medicine 

White Squads Defeats Cardinal Squad



The University of Wisconsin swimming and diving teams competed in an intrasquad scrimmage tonight at the UW Natatorium. The White squad edged the Cardinal squad with a score of 110-104.

The entire meet was very close, and the teams traded leads several times throughout the competition. But in the end, it was the white squad, who won three of the last five events, to pull off a victory.

Dan Rowlands, Hannah McClurg and Jennifer Illescas were highlights of today, said head coach Eric Hansen. As well as divers Kelly Todd, Amanda Witte, and Laura Davidson. They all had solid performances. The next step is to prepare, and get more athletes to NCAA.

After eight events, the white team trailed 37-45, until Anna Trinidad won the 300-yard IM (3:14.86), helping her team to pull within six points of the cardinal squad. Trinidad also won the 100-yard breaststroke (1:06.60), and the 200-yard medley relay (1:47.65), along with teammates Katie Imhoff-Smith, Christine Wanezek, and Emily Carpenter.

Also contributing to the white team was Michael Hamm, who won the 200-yard freestyle in a time of 1:43.29.

The cardinal team was led by Dan Rowlands, who won both the 50-yard freestyle (21.34) and the 100-yard freestyle (46.83). Jennifer Illescas also had a strong performance, winning the 200-yard freestyle (1:51.69) and finishing third in the 100-yard butterfly (57.66).

The competition was also very heated in the diving well. Kelly Todd, a member of the white team, won both the 1-meter board (285.68) and the 3-meter board (287.93), on the mens side, while Amanda Witte, a member of the red team, won the 1-meter board (260.63), on the womens side.

The performances were good overall, said diving coach Josh Seykora. The divers have been training hard, and it is paying off, but we still have some things we need to clean up.

The Badgers will next be in action in Columbus, Ohio, for the womens Big Ten Championships on Feb. 15-18. The men will be in Bloomington, Indiana Feb. 23-25 for their Big Ten Championships.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago