UW Health Sports Medicine 

Indiana Wins Big Ten Mens Soccer Championship



Indiana dominated every aspect of the game as the fourth-ranked Hoosiers defeated Michigan State 2-0 today to win their ninth Big Ten title. The Hoosiers controlled the game from the start outshooting MSU 9-1 in the first half but were unable to capitalize with a goal until the second period.

Michael Bock scored first for Indiana in the 67th minute on assists from Josh Rife and Pat Noonan. Off of a Ryan Hammer throw-in, Tyler Hawley used a header to deflect the ball to the far post where John Swan flicked the ball past Michigan States Mike Robinson for Indianas second goal in the 75th minute.

With todays win the Hoosiers earn the Big Tens automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Indianas junior forward Pat Noonan was named the offensive player of the tournament and teammate Josh Rife, a senior defender, was named the defensive player of the tournament. Both Noonan and Rife were selected to the Big Ten All-Tournament Team.

Also selected to the All-Tournament Team were Wisconsins Dominic Dapra, Northwesterns Daniel Doman, Michigans Dave George and Knox Cameron, Penn States Ricardo Villar and Chad Severs, and Michigan States Jeffrey Krass and Kellen Kalso.

Men's Soccer vs Marquette
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago