UW Health Sports Medicine 

Five Badgers Claim All-League Honors



For the second consecutive year, senior defender Aaron Hohlbein has been named a first-team All-Big Ten selection, the conference announced at its annual banquet Thursday night in Columbus, Ohio. Sophomore Victor Diaz and senior Jake Settle each earned second-team honors while Eric Conklin and Pablo Delgado were placed on the All-Freshman team.

Hohlbein, a unanimous first-team selection, was also named as Wisconsin's lone representative on the Big Ten All-Tournament team, marking his third such honor (2003, '05 and '06).

The all-league selection was the first for Settle, a three-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week honoree this season. Diaz, who led the badgers in goals (four) and points (12) this season, earned a spot on the league's all-freshman team last year.

Indianas Josh Tudela was selected as Player of the Year, while freshman Darren Yeagle was dubbed Freshman Player of the Year and Hoosier head coach Michael Freitag garnered Coach of the Year accolades.

Tudela, the 10th Hoosier to earn the conferences top honor has been a constant force for Indiana starting all 18 games to date. Named to the Missouri Athletic Club's (M.A.C.) Hermann Trophy Watch List at the start of the season, the Evansville, Ind., native has three goals and one assist on the year. Tudela was a second-team All-Big Ten selection last year.

Yeagle is the eighth Hoosier to claim Freshman of the Year laurels, picking up the award for Indiana for the second straight year. Yeagle led his team and was second in the conference in goals (6), including three game-winners.

Indianas Freitag has guided the Hoosiers to a 12-4-2 overall record and a 4-1-1 conference mark. Since being named head coach in 2004, IU has compiled a 44-11-9 record along with a second straight national title. Freitag was one of three head coaches to lead his program to a national title in his first year. Indiana claimed the conferences regular season title with a 1-0 victory against Wisconsin on Oct. 27. This is Freitags first Big Ten Coach of the Year award.

Five unanimous selections highlighted the first team All-Big Ten squad. Forwards Xavier Balc of Ohio State, Simon Omekanda of Penn State, midfielders Josh Tudela of Indiana and David Roth of Northwestern, as well as Wisconsin defender Aaron Hohlbein were unanimously selected by the conference coaches. In addition the coaches also agree on six unanimous selections to the All-Freshman team. Forwards Darren Yeagle of Indiana and Peri Marosevic of Michigan, midfielder Eric Alexander of Indiana, defenders Ofori Sarkodie of Indiana and Mark Blades of Northwestern, as well as Michigan goalkeeper Pat Sperry.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for mens soccer are Indianas John Michael Hayden, Michigans Kevin Hall, Michigan States Matt Kreikemeier, Northwesterns Will Nicholas, Ohio States Rob Strachan, Penn States Ryan Badaracco and Wisconsins Frank Iaizzo. These five student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Men's Soccer vs Marquette
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago