UW Health Sports Medicine 

Hohlbein's Hat Trick Leads Badgers to Victory



A hat trick by senior forward Jed Hohlbein was the difference for the University of Wisconsin mens soccer team in its 4-1 victory over Dayton, Sunday, at McClimon Soccer Complex. This was the second of two games played by the Badgers over the weekend in the Big Toe Soccer Invitational. With Sundays victory, the Badgers improved their record to 1-1-0 overall.

I thought we had a great performance today, said head coach Jeff Rohrman. I thought we handled our [offensive] chances better. I was very pleased with how we executed in, and around the box. I think that made it a little easier for us as the game wore on.

Hohlbein was particularly active in the offensive third of the field. The first of his three goals came at 7:51 when David Martinez served the ball into the box off of a dead ball kick and Hohlbein was there to head the ball into the back of the net.

Minutes later at 15:50, Hohlbein scored a second time as he volleyed a ball served by Andrew Cardona past Dayton goalkeeper Steve Ladislaw. Nick Van Sicklen was also awarded an assist on the play for initially feeding the ball into Cardona.

Van Sicken assisted Hohlbeins third goal when he launched the ball into play with a powerful throw-in. Hohlbein then received the ball, turned, juked past an unsuspecting Dayton defender and ripped a shot from outside the 20-yard box. Hohlbien was named the tournaments offensive MVP, as well as being named to the all-tournament team with brother Aaron Hohlbein, and Nick Van Sicklen. The hat-trick was Hohlbeins second as a Badger and third in his carreer.

Jeds had a great weekend, said Rohrman. I think this is the best Ive seen Jed play maybe since hes got here [from Southwest Missouri State University]. The timing of his runs are perfect, hes holding the ball well for us and he taking his chances very well. Hes doing all the things hes capable of doing at a very high level. Im looking for another good weekend from him next weekend.

The Badgers other goal was scored by freshman Erik Ortega at 52:15 off of a beautiful cross by fellow freshman starter B.J. Goodman. Cardona was also awarded an assist on the play for creating the opportunity for Goodman to cross the ball.

Daytons only goal was scored at 83:51 by Nate Darr off of a dead ball kick from George Nanchoff. Darr was ejected from the game moments later when he received his second yellow card, and then a red card, for running into Wisconsin goalkeeper Eric Hanson. Darr was not alone, for 11 total cards were given in the game. Wisconsin and Dayton had 5 yellow cards a piece along with Daytons red card.

Wisconsin finished the tournament in second place behind Evansville who tied the first game of the day against UW-Milwaukee 1-1 in a hard-fought battle. The game was forced into overtime when UW-M forward Antou Jallow scored with 0:32 left in regulation. Khaled El-Ahmad and Steve Sperl were credited with a double assist. After two sudden-victory overtime periods, the game ended in a tie. This tie, along with the 2-1 victory against the Badgers Friday night was enough to secure the invitational championship. UW-Milwaukee finished behind the Badgers in 3rd place, and Dayton finished last.

Evansvilles only goal was scored at 84:84 by forward Dan Broxup assisted by Marc Burch. Both men were named to the Big Toe Soccer all tournament team with fellow teammate Corey Southers who was also named the tournaments defensive MVP at goalkeeper.

Other players named to the All Tournament team were John Mark Tyler(Evansville), Tye Stebbins and Nate Darr (Dayton), and Trent Furtsch and Ian Hoelker (UW-M).

Next weekend, the Badgers will travel to UW-M to play in the Coca Cola Panther Classic. Wisconsin plays Penn at noon on Saturday and against Tulsa at 11:30a.m.on Sunday. Stay tuned to uwbadgers.com for more details about the upcoming tournament.

All-tournament team

Nick Van Sicklen (UW)

Aaron Hohlbein (UW)

Jed Hohlbein (UW)

Dan Broxup (UE)

Corey Southers (UE)

Marc Burch (UE)

John Mark Tyler (UE)

Tye Stebbins (Dayton)

Nate Darr (Dayton)

Trent Furtsch (UWM)

Ian Hoelker (UWM)

Offensive MVP: Jed Hohlbein

Defensive MVP: Corey Southers

Men's Soccer vs Southern Illinois Edwardsville
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago