UW Health Sports Medicine 

Men's Soccer Team Awards Announced



The Wisconsin mens soccer team handed out its team awards at its annual end-of-season banquet held in the new Camp Randall Suites. The Badgers finished their season with a 8-11-0 and 2-4-0 Big Ten record.

Offensive Most Valuable Player: Victor Diaz

Redshirt freshman Victor Diaz (Madrid, Spain) earned the offensive MVP honors leading the team with seven goals and two assists for 16 points. He was also a second team All-Big Ten and unanimous All-Freshman Big Ten selection. The forward was on fire at the end of the regular season and scored a goal in each of the Badgers last six games. The feat had not been accomplished in at least 20 years (reliable records were not kept on individuals and their goals scored before 1984).

Defensive Most Valuable Player: Aaron Hohlbein

Junior defender Aaron Hohlbein won the teams defensive MVP award for the second consecutive year after playing in nearly every minute of every game this season. A Middleton Wis., native, Hohlbein led the team as captain and earned first team All-Big Ten honors for his defensive efforts. He registered two goals and two assists this season, both goals came in the season-opening 2-1 win vs. UNLV. Hohlbein has been named to the inaugural All-Freshman Big Ten team as well as the second team All-Big Ten twice. He was also the 2003 team Freshman of the Year.

Most Improved Player: Scott Lorenz

Freshman Scott Lorenz (Barrington, Ill.) earned honors as the most improved player despite redshirting the season and not setting foot on the game field. His work in practice over the course of the season has shown great improvement and promise for a successful career as a Badger.

Freshman of the Year: Kenny Dix

Kenny Dix (Atlanta, Ga.) was named to the All-Freshman Big Ten team after playing all 19 games. With the same small stature and crafty ball-handling as former midfield mainstay Noah Goerlitz, Dix proved himself to be a capable replacement. Though scoreless this season, Dix created opportunities for the Badgers while thwarting the opposition. The newcomer competed on the USYSA Region III team, 2001-04 as well as the Georgia Olympic Development Program 2000-05. He led his team to 2004 Georgia AAAAA state high school championship and was named to 2005 NSCAA Club Youth All-America team.

William G. Reddan Spirit of Soccer Award: Pat Cronan

The Spirit of Soccer award is presented annually to the student-athlete who best exemplifies dedication, perseverance and love of the game of soccer. Though not tallying the most minutes or points, Pat Cronan was a valued member of the team and was awards the 27th-annual William G. Reddan Spirit of Soccer Award.

Academic Honors

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) named Wisconsin mens soccer player Christopher Ede (Wauwatosa, Wis.) to the 2005 CoSIDA Academic All-District V team.

Ede and nine other Badgers were awarded academic All-Big Ten honors. To qualify, the candidates must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their respective schools and maintain at least a cumulative 3.00 grade point average. Wisconsin mens soccer placed 10 student-athletes on the list, second at Wisconsin behind the womens soccer team who had 14 student-athletes receive the award. Following is the list of Badgers with their intended majors:

Hamid Afsari, Jr., Biology, Whitefish Bay, Wis.

Andrew Cardona, Jr., Business: Mgmt. & Human Res., Waukesha, Wis.

Nick Caronna, So., Pre-Business, Brookfield, Wis.

Victor Diaz, So., Pre-Business, Madrid, Spain

Christopher Ede, So., Business: Finance, Wauwatosa, Wis.

Sho Fujita, So., undeclared, West Bloomfield, Mich.

Frank Iaizzo, Jr., Business: Marketing, North York, Ontario

Reid Johnson, Jr., Legal Studies, Mequon, Wis.

Erik Ortega, So., undeclared, Western Springs, Ill.

Jake Settle, Jr., Business: Finance, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Men's Soccer vs Marquette
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago