UW Health Sports Medicine 

Fifteen Badgers named IRA All-Academic

Lightweight women's rowers Gretchen Miron and Katie Rosoff

July 11, 2014

MADISON, Wis. - A total of 15 members of Wisconsin's rowing programs were named 2014 Intercollegiate Rowing Association All-Academic recipients, including eight men's rowers and seven women's lightweight rowers.

The total of seven women's lightweight rowers tied for the most of any institution.

For a student-athlete to be eligible, he or she must be at least a sophomore in standing and completed one full year at his or her respective institution. He or she must also maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.35 or higher, while earning an institutional letter. He or she must have also competed at the 2014 Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships Regatta.

Kyle Anderson

Among the seven lightweight women on the team are juniors Alessandra Ruenger (Brookline, Massachusetts),Brianna Murphy (Platteville, Wisconsin), Katie Rosoff (Newport Beach, California), Gretchen Miron (Appleton, Wisconsin) and Lara Tiramani (Greenwich, Connecticut), as well as sophomores Helena Randle (Brookline, Massachusetts) and Tenzin Khangkar (Elmhurst, New York). Tiramani, Ruenger, Randle all rowed in UW's varsity lightweight eight that placed sixth at the IRA national championships, while Murphy coxed the crew. Miron and Rosoff rowed in UW's national championship-winning varsity lightweight four, with Khangkar coxing the boat.

On the men's side, seniors Beau Batty (Madison, Wisconsin), Charlie Clapp (Hingham, Massachusetts), Kyle Anderson (Elmhurst, Illinois), Vince Bertram (Schofield, Wisconsin), Travis Breunig (Sauk City, Wisconsin), Logan Hietpas (Appleton, Wisconsin) and John Rush (Short Hills, New Jersey), along with sophomore George Perrett (Ann Arbor, Michigan), all earned awards. Clapp helped UW's men's lightweight four place third in the event at IRAs, while Anderson and Perrett rowed for the 11th place varsity eight. Breunig, Bertram, Rush and Hietpas helped UW's second varsity eight take eighth at the 2014 event. Finally, Batty's third varsity eight placed 13th at the national championships.

2014 IRA All-Academic Recipients
Men's Rowers
Beau Batty, Sr., Madison, Wis.
Charlie Clapp, Sr., Hingham, Mass.
George Perrett, So. Ann Arbor, Mich.
John Rush, Sr., Short Hills, N.J.
Kyle Anderson, Sr., Elmhurst, Ill.
Logan Hietpas, Sr., Appleton, Wis.
Travis Breunig, Sr., Sauk City, Wis.
Vince Bertram, Sr., Schofield, Wis.

Women's Lightweight Rowers
Alessandra Ruenger, Jr., Brookline, Mass.
Brianna Murphy, Jr., Platteville, Wis.
Katie Rosoff, Jr., Newport Beach, Calif.
Gretchen Miron, Jr., Appleton, Wis.
Helena Randle, So., Brookline, Mass.
Lara Tiramani, Jr., Greenwich, Conn.
Tenzin Khangkar, So., Elmhurst, N.Y.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago