UW Health Sports Medicine 

Wisconsin rowers face former teammates at annual Head of the Charles

Championship men's four races at the 2013 Head of the Charles in Boston on Oct. 20, 2013 (Paul Capobianco photo)

Photo Gallery 

Oct. 20, 2013

BOSTON -- The Wisconsin men’s rowing team competed alongside some familiar faces Sunday at the 49th annual Head of the Charles, a regatta held on a 4,800-meter stretch of the Charles River in Cambridge, Mass.

The Badgers had two boats in the regatta, one in the Men’s Championship Eight event and another in the Men’s Championship Four. But despite the regatta’s massive attendance of more than 700 rowing clubs from 36 different states and 20 different countries, the rowers of Wisconsin’s championship four boat knew some of their toughest competitors all too well.

The sun beat down as the men’s fours took to the water in a race with 20 entries. The Wisconsin squad finished in 10th place overall with a time of 17:04.1, just seven-tenths of a second behind the ninth-place finisher.

Although Wisconsin crossed the finish line about half a minute after the first boat finished, the Badgers could share in the celebrations of the race winner. The first-place finisher, Camp Randall Rowing Club, consisted of former Wisconsin rowers Anthony Altimari, Tim Aghai, Ben Ruble, Andrew Weiland and Chris Stiles, who raced with many current rowers during their time at Wisconsin.

The men’s eight crew from Wisconsin competed next, racing against 31 other boats in the Championship Eight event. The Badgers finished near the center of the pack, taking 18th place with a time of 15:20.4. The Amsterdam and U.S. Rowing clubs reached the finish line first, completing the course in 14:41.2 and 14:42.7, respectively.

The men’s rowing team will return to the water Oct. 27 in the annual Head of the Iowa regatta in Iowa City.

Head of the Charles
Charles River
Oct. 19, 2013
4,800 meters

Men’s Championship Eight (32 boats entered)

1. Amsterdam, 14:41.2; 2. U.S. Rowing, 14:42.7; 3. Harvard, 14:43.0; 4. France, 14:43.2; 5. France Aviron, 14:47.9; 6. Northeastern, 14:49.9;…18. Wisconsin, 15:20.4

UW Lineup: Coxswain Leonard Manning, Kyle Anderson, James Lueken, Matt Sobotka, Patrick Muto, Michael Knippen, Logan Hietpas, Kevin Ripley, Michael Lindberg

Men’s Championship Four (20 boats entered)

1. Camp Randall, 16:35.5; 2. U.S. Rowing, 16:35.7; 3. Stanford, 16:45.4; 4. Washington, 16:49.4; 5. Sydney, 16:50.9; 6. Penn AC, 16:51.5;…10. Wisconsin, 17:04.1

UW Lineup: Coxswain Emery Flaherty, Mitchell King, Peter Ginouves, William Horvat, Steve Berg 

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago