UW Health Sports Medicine 

Badgers take two of three from No. 7 Stanford

<b>The men's rowing team won the second varsity eight and novice eight against Stanford on Sunday</b>

The men's rowing team won the second varsity eight and novice eight against Stanford on Sunday

April 21, 2013

MADISON, Wis. -- The No. 11 Wisconsin men’s rowing team closed out competition at the Stanford Invitational in Redwood Shores, Calif., Sunday with a pair of wins over the host No. 7-ranked Stanford.

“It was a nice start to the season and we really needed it, though we feel like we’re just getting started,” head coach Chris Clark said. “On Saturday in the varsity eight, Stanford raced 10 minutes after we did and they were ten seconds faster than us, so we were able to close it down to 4.1 seconds today.”

The Badgers’ novice eight and second varsity eight came away with wins against Stanford, providing a strong finish to Wisconsin’s weekend.

Wisconsin’s freshman boat out paced Stanford by 12.8 seconds to win its race, posting a time of 5:54.1 compared to the Cardinal’s 6:06.9.

Following the freshmen’s lead, the Badgers’ second varsity eight boat blew past Stanford, winning their race by 23 seconds with a 5:57.2 time to Stanford’s 6:20.2.

In the Badgers’ only loss of the day, Wisconsin’s varsity eight kept it close against seventh-ranked Stanford, clocking a 5:48.9 time, just 4.1 seconds behind the Cardinal’s 5:44.1 mark.

“No one likes to lose, but Stanford was much improved,” Clark added. “Their stroke, Austin Haack, will be an Olympian for certain, I would say that he’s the best current American collegiate rower, and he really made a difference for them”

Wisconsin is now off until May 4-5, when it travels to Boston for match-ups with MIT and Boston University.

Stanford Invitational Results
Varsity Eights
1. Stanford – 5:44.1
2. Wisconsin – 5:48.9

Second Varsity Eights
1. Wisconsin – 5:57.2
2. Stanford – 6:06.9

Novice Eights
1. Wisconsin – 5:54.1
2. Stanford – 6:06.9
Stanford Invitational Lineups
Varsity Eight: Eric Rhiel, Kyle Anderson, Ben Ruble, Matt Sobotka, Logan Hietpas, Alec Hub, Cody Rissman, Andrew Weiland, Matthew Hinkamp

Second Varsity Eight: Leonard Manning, William Bleifuss, Michael Lindberg, Ross McCaig, Mitchell King, Garret Voorhees, Kevin Ripley, Charles Holtz, Steve Berg Jr.

Novice Eight: Hunter Koeshall, Michael Knippen, Patrick Muto, Peter Ginouves, Addison Pierskalla, Remington Knight, Christophe Delaunay, George Perret, Ian Buchanan

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago