UW Health Sports Medicine 

Captains named for Badger hockey

ON WISCONSIN <b>Ryan Little</b>
Ryan Little
MADISON, Wis. -- Head Coach Mike Eaves gathered his exhausted team after 300-yard shuttle run testing inside the McClain on Wednesday to congratulate them on their hard work and to reaffirm what was already known - that seniors John Ramage (St. Louis) and Ryan Little (Fond du Lac, Wis.) will reprise their roles as Wisconsin men's hockey captain and assistant captain for the 2012-13 campaign.

Eaves also announced that student-athlete votes from Tuesday's season-opening meeting were tabulated and that senior Derek Lee (North Vancouver, British Columbia) and junior Frankie Simonelli (Bensenville, Ill.) will also serve as assistant captains.

Lee will don the `A' for games at the Kohl Center, while Simonelli will wear the letter for road contests.

Juniors Jefferson Dahl (Eau Claire, Wis.) and Mark Zengerle (Rochester, N.Y.) were mentioned by Eaves as gaining a significant amount of votes, as well.

Ramage becomes the first solo captain in consecutive seasons since Adam Burish led the Badgers in 2004-05 and 2005-06.

Other two-time solo captains include Steve Reinprecht (1998-99, 1999-2000), Erik Raygor (1996-97, 1997-98), Steve Rohlik (1988-89, 1989-90) and Mike Eaves (1975-76, 1977-78). Eaves was also one of three tri-captains during the 1976-77 season. In 2008-09, Ben Street and Blake Geoffrion were co-captains, before both were part of a tri-captain group in 2009-10 that also included Ryan McDonagh.

Prior to this season, the last time UW had one captain and three assistant captains was during the 2005-06 campaign when Burish was assisted by Ryan MacMurchy, Tom Gilbert and Andrew Joudrey.

Mini Pack
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago