UW Health Sports Medicine 

Geoffrion up for Hobey Baker, announcement tonight

ON WISCONSIN <b>Senior forward Blake Geoffrion</b>
Senior forward Blake Geoffrion

April 9, 2010

DETROIT – The winner of the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award will be announced tonight from Ford Field in Detroit as part of the NCAA Frozen Four. Fans can watch the announcement live on ESPNU as senior forward Blake Geoffrion has the chance to become Wisconsin’s first Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner in program history.

Geoffrion joins New Hampshire’s Bobby Butler and Maine’s Gustav Nyquist in the “Hobey Hat Trick” final three candidates for the award. Tonight’s announcement will be made live on ESPNU at 6 p.m. CT.

Friday night at the Frozen Four also includes an autograph session with Wisconsin and Boston College, presentation of both the Hockey Humanitarian Award along with the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, a paralympic sled hockey demonstration, announcement of the RBK Hockey/AHCA Division I Men’s All-American Team and the Frozen Four Skills Challenge.

UW women’s hockey senior forward Kyla Sanders will represent the University of Wisconsin in the Frozen Four Skills Challenge. Competitions will include puck control relay, fastest skater, hardest shot, rapid-fire shooting, accuracy shooting and penalty shot.

Wisconsin (28-10-4) takes on Boston College (28-10-3) in the NCAA title game on Saturday night as the Badgers look for their seventh national championship. Puck drop is set for 6 p.m. CT, and the game will air live on ESPN and ESPN360.com.

Mini Pack
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago