UW Health Sports Medicine 

Eaves named finalist for Spencer Penrose Award

ON WISCONSIN Head coach Mike Eaves
Head coach Mike Eaves

April 1, 2010

MADISON, Wis. – Badger head coach Mike Eaves is one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Spencer Penrose Award, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Thursday. The award is given annually to the top NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

All four Frozen Four teams’ head coaches are among this year’s finalists as Miami’s Enrico Blasi, RIT’s Wayne Wilson and Boston College’s Jerry York join Eaves as contenders for the award.

The finalists include three previous award winners in Blasi (2006), Denver’s George Gwozdecky (1993 at Miami and 2005 at Denver) and Dick Umile of New Hampshire (1999).

Jack Parker of Boston University won the award in 2009 after leading the Terriers to the NCAA title.

This year marks the 60th year of the Spencer Penrose Award, and a Wisconsin head coach has never received the award.

To be a finalist for the award, coaches must either be voted Coach of the Year in their conference or take their team to the NCAA Frozen Four.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA Hockey Championships. The 2010 winner will be announced after the Frozen Four and presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Coach of Men's Hockey Banquet on May 1 in Naples, Fla.

2009-2010 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Division I Coach of the Year Finalists
Enrico Blasi, Miami*#@
Mark Dennehy, Merrimack*
Mike Eaves, Wisconsin#
George Gwozdecky, Denver*@
Nate Leaman, Union*
C.J. Marottolo, Sacred Heart*
Tom Serratore, Bemidji State*
Dick Umile, New Hampshire*@
Wayne Wilson, RIT#
Jerry York, Boston College#

* Conference Coach of the Year
# NCAA Frozen Four Participant
@ Previous Winner of the Spencer Penrose Award

Mini Pack
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago