UW Health Sports Medicine 

McCabe leads Team USA to gold medal at World Juniors

ON WISCONSIN <b>Jake McCabe</b>
Jake McCabe

Jan. 5, 2013

ANCHORAGE, Alaska –- Jake McCabe is carrying on what has become a Wisconsin men’s hockey tradition. The sophomore defenseman finished off his tenure as Team USA’s captain early Saturday morning by helping the U.S. National Junior Team capture the 2013 International Hockey Federation World Junior Championship gold medal. The tournament brings together the world’s best players under the age of 20.

Playing at Ufa Arena in Ufa, Russia, McCabe and Team USA claimed a 3-1 victory over defending-champion Sweden to earn Team USA its second gold medal, and third medal in four years, at the tournament. All three medals were led by captains who played for Wisconsin.

Team USA owns seven medals all-time in the tournament, which officially began in 1977.

On Saturday, two goals by Rocco Grimaldi, an empty-net tally by Vince Trocheck, and 26 saves by goaltender John Gibson provided the stats necessary for Team USA’s victory.

Jake McCabe ranked third in the tournament among defenseman with six points (three goals, three assists). He also ranked second among all players at the event with a plus-9, leading Team USA in the category. For those efforts, McCabe was one of four Americans named to the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship Media All-Star Team.

Wisconsin Badgers have played an integral part in all three Team USA World Junior gold medals. In addition to team captain Jake McCabe, assistant coach Mark Osiecki and general manager Jim Johannson also contributed to the 2013 gold medal as former Badgers.

In 2010, Osiecki and Johannson took the same roles, while former Badger forward Derek Stepan was the one to captain Team USA. Stepan was the tournament’s leading scorer that year.

In 2004, UW head coach Mike Eaves directed the Americans to the country’s first-ever gold medal in the tournament.

In all, a total of nine Badgers have won gold medals at World Juniors. In addition to McCabe and Stepan, John Ramage and Jake Gardiner won gold in 2010, Cody Goloubef (2009) and Kyle Turris (2008) won gold with Canada, and Ryan Suter, Jake Dowell and Jeff Likens took home gold in 2004.

Badger World Junior Championship Medalists

Year      Badger Country      Medal
2013 Jake McCabe (Captain)    USA Gold
2011 John Ramage (Captain) USA Bronze
2010 Derek Stepan (Captain) USA Gold
John Ramage USA Gold
Jake Gardiner USA Gold
2009 Cody Goloubef Canada Gold
2008 Kyle Turris Canada Gold
2007 Jack Skille USA Bronze
Jamie McBain USA Bronze
Blake Geoffrion USA Bronze
2004 Jake Dowell USA Gold
Jeff Likens USA Gold
Ryan Suter USA Gold
2001 Dany Heatley Canada Bronze
2000 Dany Heatley Canada Bronze
1992 Brian Rafalski USA Bronze
Chris Tucker USA Bronze
1986 Scott Mellanby Canada Silver
Mike Richter USA Bronze
Paul Ranheim USA Bronze
1983 Patrick Flatley Canada Bronze
Mini Pack
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago