UW Health Sports Medicine 

Wisconsin falls to Boston College in NCAA title game, 5-0

ON WISCONSIN Boston College's Cam Atkinson, left, and Wisconsin's Blake Geoffrion battle for the puck in the second period.
Boston College's Cam Atkinson, left, and Wisconsin's Blake Geoffrion battle for the puck in the second period.

April 10, 2010

Box Score | Box Score Get Acrobat Reader | Photo Gallery | Video Highlights | Photo Gallery

DETROIT - Boston College denied the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team its seventh NCAA title as the Eagles blanked the Badgers 5-0 in front of a record-breaking 37,592 fans in the 2010 NCAA national championship game at Detroit's Ford Field on Saturday night.

Wisconsin (28-11-4) was led by the play of junior goaltender Scott Gudmandson (Sherwood Park, Alberta), who turned away 21 shots by the Eagles.

In a rematch of the 2006 national title game when the Badgers defeated BC 2-1, the Eagles returned the favor to earn their fourth NCAA title. Boston College (29-10-3) erupted for four third-period goals after holding a slim 1-0 lead through the majority of the game.

The Eagles outshot the Badgers 26-20, and BC goalie John Muse made 20 saves as Boston College held UW scoreless. The game marked just the third time Wisconsin was shut out this season. UW went 0-for-3 on the power play while holding the Eagles to 2-for-5 with the man advantage.

The Badgers trailed 1-0 after the first period as Boston College's Ben Smith scored the period's lone goal on the power play. After BC intercepted a clearing attempt by UW, Joe Whitney sent a quick pass across the blue line to Steven Whitney, who found Smith in the slot. Smith's quick wrister beat Gudmandson and put Boston College on the board at the 12:57 mark of the first period.

The teams skated to a scoreless second period. In one of the Wisconsin's best scoring chances of the middle frame, senior Michael Davies (St. Louis) broke through the BC defensemen, but a bad bounce saw the puck squirt away from him just as he wound up for the shot.

Boston College's offense broke open in the third period when Eagles' scoring leader Cam Atkinson beat Gudmandson five hole on a pass from Joe Whitney to give BC the 2-0 lead at the 1:38 mark.

Less than two minutes later, the Eagles extended their lead to three on a tally by Chris Kreider at 3:40 of the third period.

Boston College then capitalized for its second power-play goal when Atkinson recorded his second tally of the game. The Eagles attacked the Badger net on a quick transition, and Brian Gibbons found Atkinson flying through the slot. Boston College took the 4-0 lead with 12:40 remaining.

Wisconsin pulled Gudmandson with 5:50 remaining, but the Eagles iced the victory with an empty-net goal. Matt Price ripped an unassisted shot from center ice with 4:31 to play.

Junior defenseman Brendan Smith (Mimico, Ontario) was named to the Frozen Four All-Tournament team along with Boston College's Cam Atkinson, Ben Smith, Joe Whitney, Brian Dumoulin and John Muse.

The game marks the end of seven Badger seniors' careers at Wisconsin, including UW's first Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner Blake Geoffrion (Brentwood, Tenn.). After making the program's 11th trip to the NCAA Frozen Four, the Badgers end their 2010 campaign with an overall record of 28-11-4.



Ticket Catalog
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago