UW Health Sports Medicine 

Carimi wins Outland Trophy

ON WISCONSIN <b>Gabe Carimi is just the second player in Wisconsin history to win the Outland Trophy.</b>
Gabe Carimi is just the second player in Wisconsin history to win the Outland Trophy.

Dec. 9, 2010

ORLANDO, Fla. -- Wisconsin senior left tackle Gabe Carimi was named the 2010 Outland Trophy winner at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show Thursday night in Orlando, Fla. Carimi follows in the footsteps of the Badger he replaced on the left side of the line, Joe Thomas, who won the award in 2006.

Carimi was also named a Walter Camp first-team All-American, becoming the first Badger since TE Travis Beckum in 2007 to earn first-team honors. Senior TE Lance Kendricks and junior DE J.J. Watt were both second-team selections on the Walter Camp All-American team. The last time Wisconsin had three members of the Walter Camp All-American Team was in 1999 with Ron Dayne (first-team), Chris McIntosh (first-team) and Jamar Fletcher (second-team).

Carimi has anchored Wisconsin's record-setting offensive line all season. The Badgers are the only team in the country to have three different running backs with at least 800 yards and they rank 12th in the country in rushing offense (247.3 ypg.). The Badgers lead the Big Ten and are tied for fourth in the country in scoring offense, averaging 43.3 points per game. QB Scott Tolzien has only been sacked 11 times this season.

Carimi, with 48 career starts, is one of just three Badgers on the offensive side of the ball to start every game this season.

The Outland Trophy, which has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946, is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. The Outland Trophy is the third oldest award in major college football behind the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. The official 2010 award presentation to Carimi will be Jan. 13, 2011 in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee.

Carimi and Thomas are the only Badger players to win the Outland Trophy. Aaron Gibson (1998) and Chris McIntosh (1999) were also finalists for the award.

Junior RB John Clay was one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, which went to Oregon's LaMichael James. Kendricks was a finalist for the Mackey Award, which was presented to D.J. Williams of Arkansas.

Senior QB Scott Tolzien is set to receive the Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented to the nation's top senior quarterback, on Friday in Baltimore. Meanwhile, Watt will be in California on Sunday where he is one of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Wisconsin finished the regular season with an 11-1 mark, including a 7-1 record in the Big Ten that was good for a share of the school's first Big Ten title since 1999. The Badgers, ranked fourth in the country, will take on No. 3 TCU in the Rose Bowl presented by Vizio on Jan. 1 at 4:10 p.m. CT.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago