UW Health Sports Medicine 

Alvarez, Tolzien to be honored at National Football Foundation Banquet

ON WISCONSIN <b>Quarterback Scott Tolzien tours New York City with the rest of the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athletes on Dec. 6, 2010 (Gene Boyars/NFF).</b>
Quarterback Scott Tolzien tours New York City with the rest of the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athletes on Dec. 6, 2010 (Gene Boyars/NFF).

Dec. 7, 2010

Alvarez HOF Announcement  |  The Alvarez Era  Hall of Fame Badgers

MADISON, Wis. -- Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez will officially be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame tonight at the National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner Tuesday night at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. Quarterback Scott Tolzien will also be recognized as one of 16 NFF Scholar-Athletes at the dinner.

Both Alvarez and Tolzien will take part in a press conference Tuesday morning from 8:30-10:30 a.m. CT. The press conference will be live streamed by XOS Digital.

At tonight's dinner, NFF Honors Court Chairman Eugene Corrigan will introduce the 2010 Hall of Fame players while NFF Board Member, AFCA Executive Director, and Hall of Fame Coach GrantTeaff will introduce the 2010 Hall of Fame coaches. Hall of Fame Coach Vince Dooley, who coached at Georgia from 1964-1988, will present the Hall of Fame plaques while Wisconsin inductee Barry Alvarez will deliver the response for the 2010 Hall of Fame class. NFF Board member, two-time Heisman winner and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Archie Griffin will conduct the Hall of Fame Ring Ceremony.

NFF Board Member and noted philanthropist T. Boone Pickens will present the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards with assistance from NFF Board Member and NFL Executive Vice President Ray Anderson. Florida State quarterback Christian Ponder will respond for the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class.

On May 27, the NFF announced that Alvarez, who tallied a 118-73-4 record as the Badgers head coach from 1990-2005, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a member of the 2010 class. The only coach in Big Ten history to win back-to-back Rose Bowls, Alvarez boasts the highest all-time bowl winning percentage (.727) for coaches with at least 11 bowl appearances. The winningest coach in Wisconsin history, Alvarez captured three Big Ten Championships, and he joins College Football Hall of Fame coach Woody Hayes as the only two Big Ten coaches to win three Rose Bowls.

"Barry Alvarez took a program that had won six games in the three seasons prior to his arrival and turned them into a perennial powerhouse for more than a decade. There was never a doubt that he was headed to the Hall of Fame," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "He's the ultimate competitor, recruiter and tactician, and he been a great mentor to a slew of current head coaches. We look forward to the tremendous honor of traveling to Camp Randall Stadium to hear the crowds cheer his name in appreciation."

Tolzien becomes the fifth Badger player in school history to be named a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete joining Dave Fronek (1966), Tom Stauss (1979), Jim Leonhard (2004) and Joe Thomas (2006).

Candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The 121 semifinalists for the award were announced on Sept. 30, and the class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

"The 2010 National Scholar-Athlete Class represents all that is right about college football," said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. "They have balanced practice with difficult majors like mechanical engineering and biology. They've also taken their passion for helping others beyond their local communities, taking medical and mission trips overseas to help those less fortunate than themselves. They are prime role models for future generations of young men in this country."

With more than 50 current Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches in attendance, the NFF Awards Dinner will feature several well-known football luminaries. CBS's Harry Smith, who played defensive tackle for College Football Hall of Fame coach Ron Schipper at Central College (Iowa), will emcee the event. NFF Board Member and TV personality Jack Ford will present celebrated entertainer and humanitarian Bill Cosby with the Gold Medal while Tom Brokaw, the renowned journalist and author, will accept the NFF Distinguished American Award, presented by Generational Equity.

Besides Alvarez, the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame class include the late Dennis Byrd (North Carolina State); Ronnie Caveness (Arkansas); Ray Childress (Texas A&M); Randy Cross (UCLA); Sam Cunningham (Southern California); Mark Herrmann (Purdue); Clarkston Hines (Duke); Desmond Howard (Michigan); Chet Moeller (Navy); Jerry Stovall (LSU); the late Pat Tillman (Arizona State); Alfred Williams (Colorado); and coach Gene Stallings (Texas A&M, Alabama).

Members of the 2010 class of NFF National Scholar-Athletes include Tolzien, Sam Acho (Texas); Anthony Castonzo (Boston College); Ben Chappell (Indiana); Alex Gross (Columbia); Owen Marecic (Stanford); Greg McElroy (Alabama); Mike Mohamed (California); Travis Nissley (Bucknell); Isaac Odim (Minnesota Duluth); Christian Ponder (Florida State); Derek Sherrod (Mississippi State); Nate Solder (Colorado); Chris Stewart (Notre Dame); Ben Wartman (Saint Thomas, Minn.); and Stefen Wisniewski (Penn State). Each receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship with the Campbell Trophy honoree claiming a grand total of $25,000. HealthSouth Chairman Jon F. Hanson will have the honor of presenting the Campbell Trophy to the 21st recipient of the award at the event.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago