UW Health Sports Medicine 

UW coaching trio up for national honors

ON WISCONSIN <b>John Settle is up for Running Backs Coach of the Year.</b>
John Settle is up for Running Backs Coach of the Year.

Dec. 6, 2010

Offensive Coordinator  |  Running Backs  |  Offensive Line

MADISON, Wis. – With the Wisconsin offense putting up record-breaking numbers in the 2010 season, it’s only fitting that those responsible get the recognition they deserve. With a Rose Bowl appearance less than a month away, three members of the Wisconsin coaching staff have been recognized for their efforts.

At FootballScoop.com, Paul Chryst is one of four finalists for Offensive Coordinator of the Year, while Bob Bostad is one of five nominees for Offensive Line Coach of the Year and John Settle is one of four up for Running Backs Coach of the Year.

Wisconsin currently boasts the fourth-highest scoring team in the nation, averaging 43.3 points per game. In their last four contests, the Badgers have outscored their opponents 235-84. Over the course of the eight-game Big Ten season, UW averaged 45.2 points per game, the second-highest per game total in conference history.

Averaging 247.3 rushing yards per game, Wisconsin holds the No. 12 rushing attack in the country. No other team in the country can match the three 800-yard rushers that the Badgers have. In the last three weeks of the regular season, Wisconsin rushed for 1,024 yards and scored 17 rushing touchdowns.

With 64 more rushing yards from John Clay and 136 more from Montee Ball, Wisconsin would become the first team in FBS history to boast three 1,000-yard running backs in the same season.

With the Rose Bowl still to be played, the Wisconsin offense has already broken school records for rushing touchdowns in a season (46) and points in a season (520). In addition, the team is on pace to break the mark for average yards per carry, total offense, points per game and passing completion percentage.

The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. Finalists were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel.

A panel of coaches including previous recipients will determine the 2010 winners. Votes tallied on FootballScoop.com are considered; however a panel of coaches make the final decision.

Finalists will be announced through Friday, Dec. 10. Winners of the 2010 Coaches of the Year awards will be announced beginning Monday, Dec. 13.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago