UW Health Sports Medicine 

Ron Dayne to be inducted into Rose Bowl Hall of Fame

ON WISCONSIN <b>Ron Dayne rushed for 246 yards -- 1 yard shy of the Rose Bowl record -- on 27 carries on his way to MVP honors in a 38-31 Badgers win over UCLA in the 1999 Rose Bowl Game.</b>
Ron Dayne rushed for 246 yards -- 1 yard shy of the Rose Bowl record -- on 27 carries on his way to MVP honors in a 38-31 Badgers win over UCLA in the 1999 Rose Bowl Game.

Dec. 5, 2011

Ron Dayne Retrospective

PASADENA, Calif. -- Two-time Rose Bowl Game MVP Ron Dayne, who helped Wisconsin to back-to-back wins in the The Granddaddy of Them All in 1999 and 2000, joins Dick Enberg and George Fleming as a member of the 2011 Rose Bowl Hall of Fame class.

The trio will be installed at the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony supported by Wells Fargo at noon on Dec. 31 at the Pasadena Convention Center.

"The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame recognizes the finest class of individuals to have played, coached and contributed their talents on the hallowed field of the Rose Bowl Stadium," said Tournament of Roses Interim Executive Director Bill Flinn. "We are proud to annually induct a class which will be honored for years to come through this ceremony."

Dayne becomes the fifth person with UW ties to be inducted into the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame and joins his head coach, current UW Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez, as an inductee. Alvarez was named part of the hall's Class of 2009 in recognition of his three wins in the Rose Bowl Game as the Badgers' coach.

The other Badgers enshrined are 2004 inductee Alan Ameche, 1994 inductee Pat Richter and 1991 inductee Ron Vander Kelen.

During his career with the Badgers, Dayne set the NCAA Division I-A rushing record for total yards by gaining 1,863 yards as a freshman, 1,421 as a sophomore, 1,325 as a junior and 1,834 as a senior.

He led the Badgers to bowl games each season, with his most impressive performances coming in the 1999 and 2000 Rose Bowl Game victories where he rushed for 246 yards and 200 yards, respectively. Dayne won MVP honors in both games, becoming only the third player in the history of the Rose Bowl Game -- and the first Big Ten player -- to repeat as MVP, a record still held today.

Dayne won the Heisman Trophy in 1999 along with numerous other accolades, including the Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award and Big Ten Player of the Year honors.

He also garnered All-America honors in 1996, 1998 and 1999. His name and number is one of six displayed on the Camp Randall Stadium façade, with his number being officially retired by Wisconsin in 2007.

Dayne was selected with the 11th pick by the New York Giants in the 2000 NFL Draft and stayed with the program for five years. In 2005, he was signed by the Denver Broncos and in 2006, signed with the Houston Texans. Dayne resides in Madison and is currently involved with various marketing and charitable activities.

The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to pay tribute to members of the Rose Bowl Game who have contributed to the history and excitement of the game, and those who embody the highest level of passion, strength, tradition and honor associated with The Granddaddy of Them All®.

Over the past 22 years, a total of 101 inductees have been added to the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. Inductees are honored by a permanent plaque with their name and year of induction at The Court of Champions at the Rose Bowl Stadium.

Legendary announcer and Rose Bowl Hall of Fame inductee Keith Jackson will once again serve as the master of ceremonies for the Induction Ceremony. The luncheon is open for public attendance and tickets are available online at www.tournamentofroses.com or by calling (626) 449-4100.

Following the induction ceremony and the Kickoff Luncheon on Jan. 1, the three inductees will be honored at the 98th Rose Bowl Game presented by VIZIO at 4:10 p.m. (CT) on Jan. 2, 2012.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago