UW Health Sports Medicine 

Carimi one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy

ON WISCONSIN <b>Gabe Carimi has helped lead a Badger rushing attack that has put up 695 yards and 12 touchdown over the last two weeks.</b>
Gabe Carimi has helped lead a Badger rushing attack that has put up 695 yards and 12 touchdown over the last two weeks.

Nov. 22, 2010

Outland Trophy finalists

– Wisconsin senior tackle Gabe Carimi has been chosen as one of three finalists for the 2010 Outland Trophy, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Monday. The award, which is now in its 65th year, is given annually to the nation’s best interior lineman.

Carimi, a 6-7, 327-pound senior from Cottage Grove, Wis., has started all 47 games of his career, including the past 31 games in a row. All of his starts have come at left tackle as he replaced Joe Thomas, the only Outland Trophy winner in school history.

A midseason first-team All-American selection by Phil Steele, Carimi has been the anchor of an offensive line that has produced the 12th-ranked rushing offense in the country (239.9 yards per game) and given up just 12 sacks in 11 games.

Behind Carimi, the Badgers became the first team in 11 years to score more than 30 points against Ohio State and Iowa in the same season, rushing for a combined 326 yards against those teams. In the past two weeks against Indiana and Michigan, Wisconsin has rushed for 695 yards and 12 touchdowns.

With one regular season game still left to play in 2010, the Wisconsin offense has already broken school records for rushing touchdowns in a season (41) and points in a season (450). In addition, the team is on pace to break the mark for average yards per carry, points per game and completion percentage.

The other finalists are Florida State guard Rodney Hudson and Colorado offensive tackle Nate Solder.

The winner of the Outland Trophy will be announced on the evening of Dec. 9 during "The Home Depot College Football Awards Show" at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The show, hosted by Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard, airs from 7-9 p.m. (ET) on ESPN.

The official 2010 award presentation will be Jan. 13, 2011, in Omaha, Neb., at a banquet sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago