UW Health Sports Medicine 

UW linebacker duo named Lott IMPACT Trophy quarterfinalists

<b>Borland has a team-high 4.5 sacks, including this one against Illinois.</b>

Borland has a team-high 4.5 sacks, including this one against Illinois.

Oct. 23, 2012

MADISON, Wis. -- With a combined 151 tackles this season, including 18.5 for loss, the Wisconsin linebacker duo of senior Mike Taylor and junior Chris Borland have made a big impact on the field for the Badgers. Now the pair is being recognized for their performances, as both were named quarterfinalists for the 2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Taylor leads the Badgers and ranks second in the Big Ten with 84 tackles, including a league-leading 10.0 for loss, while Borland is second at UW with 67 tackles, including 8.5 for loss.

The duo's impact can be felt on the field, as the Badgers' defense has allowed five rushing touchdowns  and just 17.8 points per game, a mark that ranks the Badgers fourth in the Big Ten and 21st nationally.

Wisconsin's starting linebackers (Taylor, Borland and Ethan Armstrong) have combined for 198 tackles, the second most of any group of starting linebackers in the Big Ten. Their average of 24.8 stops per game also ranks No. 2 in the league.

Taylor finished the 2011 season with 150 tackles, the most in the Big Ten and third-most in the country, while Borland ranked second in the Big Ten with 143.

Both linebackers are leaving their mark in the UW record books, as Taylor is tied for 12th with 338 career tackles and Borland ranks 25th with 271 career tackles.

The Lott IMPACT Trophy is named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott and honors the student-athlete who has the biggest IMPACT on his team on and off the field. Former Badger J.J. Watt won the award in 2010, while Jim Leonhard was a finalist in 2004.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced Nov. 13, followed by four finalists on Nov. 28.  The four finalists will be invited to the ninth annual Lott IMPACT Trophy awards ceremony in Newport Beach Dec. 9. 

2012 Lott IMPACT Trophy quarterfinalists
Johnthan Banks, CB, Mississippi State
Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
Chris Borland, LB, Wisconsin

Arthur Brown, LB, Kansas State
Max Bullough, LB, Michigan State
Travis Johnson, DE, San Jose State
Jarvis Jones, LB, Georgia
Jake Knott, LB, Iowa State
Star Lotulelei, DT, Utah
Brandon Magee, LB, Arizona State
T.J. McDonald, S, USC
Sam Montgomery, DE, LSU
J.C. Percy, LB, Boise State
Eric Reid, S, LSU
John Simon, DT, Ohio State
Mike Taylor, LB, Wisconsin

Manti Te'o, LB, Notre Dame
Chase Thomas, LB, Stanford
Bjoern Werner, DT, Florida State
Jesse Williams, DT, Alabama

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy
2004 - David Pollack, Georgia
2005 - DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 - Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 - Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 - James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 - Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 - J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 - Luke Kuechly, Boston College

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member, Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.

Founded in 2004 by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $850,000 to various charities throughout the country. The ninth annual Lott Trophy dinner will be held Dec. 9th at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, California.

For more information on The Lott Trophy visit: www.LottTrophy.com.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago