UW Health Sports Medicine 

Tolzien named semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

ON WISCONSIN <B>Scott Tolzien holds school records for career completion percentage and career QB efficiency rating.</b>
Scott Tolzien holds school records for career completion percentage and career QB efficiency rating.

Sept. 30, 2010

MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin senior quarterback Scott Tolzien has been named one of 47 semifinalists from the Football Bowl Subdivision for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

In order to be nominated for the Campbell Trophy, which is the premier scholar-athlete award and was formerly known as the Draddy Trophy, student-athletes must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade-point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results via national press release on Thursday, Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

With regular visits to elementary schools in both Madison and his hometown of Rolling Meadows, Ill., Tolzien has become a standout for his community service. In addition, Tolzien visits the UW Children's Hospital, where he has developed a special bond with a six-year old cancer patient.

On the field in 2010, Tolzien has completed over 76 percent of his passes for 851 yards with five touchdown to two interceptions. Prior to the season, he was named to the watch lists for the Maxwell, Manning, Davey O’Brien and Unitas Golden Arm Awards.

For his work on and off the field, Tolzien has also been a candidate for the 2010 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award.

Wisconsin has had two finalists for Campbell Trophy in its history with Jim Leonhard earning the honor in 2004 and Joe Thomas doing so in 2006.

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago