UW Health Sports Medicine 

Abbrederis on list of top wide receivers in the country


July 17, 2013

Biletnikoff Award Watch List

MADISON, Wis. -- Senior Jared Abbrederis is already one of the most decorated wide receivers in Wisconsin football history. The former walk-on quarterback has more than 2,000 receiving yards in his career and was a consensus first-team All-Big Ten choice in 2012.

On Tuesday, for the second-straight year, Abbrederis was named to the watch list for the Biletnikoff Award. That award is given to the nation's top wide receiver. Abbrederis is one of only six players on the list with at least 800 receiving yards in each of the last two seasons, joining Noel Grigsby of San Jose State, Cody Hoffman of BYU, Marqise Lee of USC, Tevin Reese of Baylor and Eric Ward of Texas Tech.

Abbrederis owns 2,059 receiving yards for his career, which ranks him No. 6 in Badgers history, and his 16 career receiving touchdowns ties him for sixth all-time at UW, as well. He's the nation's top returning wide receiver in terms of average per reception, owning a career average of 16.6 yards per catch.

Abbrederis was the Badgers' leading receiver in 2012 with 49 receptions for 837 yards and five touchdowns. His 837 receiving yards ranked third among Big Ten players despite the fact that Abbrederis missed the second half of UW's game vs. Oregon State and the entire Utah State game with an injury.

He became just the fourth UW player to tally 800 receiving yards in multiple seasons, joining Travis Beckum, Lee Evans and Nick Toon. He also became the first Badger since Evans in 2001 to post three consecutive 100-yard receiving games when he tallied a career-high 147 yards vs. UTEP, 142 yards at Nebraska and 117 yards vs. Illinois.

Season and single-game tickets to watch Abbrederis and the rest of the Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium in 2013 are currently on sale. Get your tickets today!

2013 Award Watch Lists
• Lott IMPACT Trophy (defensive player of the year): Chris Borland
• Hornung Award (most versatile): Jared Abbrederis
• Maxwell (player of the year): James White
• Bednarik (defensive player of the year): Chris Borland
• John Mackey Award (best tight end): Jacob Pedersen
• Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player of the year): Chris Borland
• Outland Trophy (best interior lineman): Ryan Groy
• Lombardi Award (college lineman of the year): Chris Borland & Ryan Groy
• Butkus Award (best linebacker): Chris Borland
• Biletnikoff Award (best receiver): Jared Abbrederis

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago