UW Health Sports Medicine 

Stave named to O'Brien Award watch list


July 16, 2014

Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

MADISON, Wis. -- Wisconsin QB Joel Stave has been named a preseason candidate for the Davey O'Brien Award with the announcement of the watch list for the national quarterback honor on Wednesday.

The junior signal-caller is among 39 quarterbacks tabbed by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, with a total of 13 juniors named to the watch list. Stave is one of five Big Ten quarterbacks listed, with only the Pac-12 (8) boasting more candidates on the watch list.

Stave enters his junior season after starting all 13 games for the Badgers and earning All-Big Ten honorable mention in 2013. He threw 22 touchdown passes, the second-most ever at UW, and his 2,494 passing yards marked the fifth-highest total in school history.

Stave completed 61.9 percent of his passes, setting the single-season school record for attempts at 336 and the third-highest total for completions with 208.

He led a UW offense that set a school record by averaging 480.8 total yards per game and posted the third-highest scoring output in UW history at 34.8 points per game.

For his career, Stave ranks No. 4 in UW history in passing efficiency at 140.8, trailing only the marks of Russell Wilson (191.8), Scott Tolzien (153.2) and Jim Sorgi (141.2). He also ranks eighth all-time with 28 touchdown passes and 10th with 3,598 passing yards.

Stave owns a 13-6 record in 19 career starts for the Badgers.

Former Badgers QBs John Stocco (2006) and Russell Wilson (2011) were both semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, which has been presented annually to the nation's top quarterback for the last 37 years.

The candidates will be narrowed down to a field of 16 semifinalists on Nov. 3, with the Davey O'Brien Award Selection Committee naming its three finalists on Nov. 24. The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 11.

Badgers on Preseason Watch Lists
• RB Melvin Gordon (Maxwell Award)
• RT Rob Havenstein (Outland Trophy, Lombardi Award)
• QB Joel Stave (Davey O'Brien Award)
• C Dan Voltz (Rimington Trophy)

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago