UW Health Sports Medicine 

Konz and Nosbusch named Big Ten Medal of Honor winners

ON WISCONSIN <b>Nosbusch was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and twice named Big Ten distinguised scholar.</b>
Nosbusch was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and twice named Big Ten distinguised scholar.

June 6, 2012

MADISON, Wis.-- Wisconsin's Peter Konz and Laurie Nosbusch were honored Wednesday with the Big Ten Conference's Medal of Honor for excellence in athletics and academics.

The award is presented annually at each Big Ten institution to a male and female student-athlete in the graduating class who has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Konz and Nosbusch join a distinguished group of past UW Medal of Honor winners that include, among others: Joe Thomas (2007), Sarah Bauer (2007), Jim Leonhard (2005), Kirk Penney (2003), Heather Taggart (1992), Mike Eaves (1978) and Pat Richter (1963).

A three-year starter for the Wisconsin football team, Konz graduated in May with a 3.29 GPA in communication arts. He helped UW win consecutive Big Ten titles and advance to back-to-back Rose Bowls.

A 2011 Rimington Trophy finalist, Konz was named a first-team All-American by the AFCA and Pro Football Weekly. The Neenah, Wis., native was a first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2011 and a three-time Academic All-Big Ten choice.

Konz was named to the National Football Foundation's 2012 Hampshire Society and earned ESPN Academic All-District honors in 2010.

A four-year starter at forward for the Wisconsin women's soccer team, Nosbusch finished her career ranked fifth all-time at UW in goals and points, sixth in assists and 10th in multi-goal games.

Nosbusch was a first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2010, while as a sophomore she earned third-team All-Great Lakes Region and second-team All-Big Ten honors. That followed a freshman campaign that earned her a spot on the Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

A CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2011, the Mequon, Wis., native was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and a two-time Big Ten distinguished scholar. Nosbusch carries a 3.98 cumulative GPA in Spanish and biology.


In 1914, the Conference endowed a Medal of Honor, to be awarded annually at each institution, to a student in the graduating class that has demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. Winners in 1964 were 50th Anniversary winners of the Medal of Honor. Beginning in 1982, a senior woman athlete from each institution has also been awarded the Conference Medal of Honor.

1915 - Martin Thomas Kennedy, Rowing
1916 - William Dow Harvey, Track and Field
1917 - Mead Burke, Track and Field
1918 - Ebert Edward Simpson, Jr.
1919 - Charles H. Carpenter, Football
1920 - Anthony G. Zulfer, Baseball, Basketball
1921 - Allan C. Davey, Football
1922 - George Bunge, Football
1923 - Gustave K. Tebell, Baseball, Basketball, Football
1924 - Harold J. Bentson, Rowing
1925 - Lloyd Vallely, Cross Country, Track
1926 - Stephen H. Polaski, Football
1927 - Jefferson DeMent Burrus, Rowing
1928 - Louis Behr, Basketball
1929 - Theodore A. Thelander, Baseball, Basketball, Football
1930 - Donald W. Meikeljohn, Tennis
1931 - Louis E. Oberdeck, Rowing
1932 - Harvey H. Schneider
1933 - Nello Anthony Pacetti, Football
1934 - Robert A. Schiller, Wrestling
1935 - Rolf Falk Poser, Basketball
1936 - Howard Thurston Heun, Rowing
1937 - Leonard L. Lovshin, Football
1938 - Charles H. Fensk, Cross Country, Track
1939 - Walter I. Bietila, Baseball
1940 - Ralph H. Moeller, Football
1941 - Kenneth E. Bixby, Baseball
1942 - Burleigh E. Jacobs
1943 - Frederick R. Rehm
1944 - Edward M. Dzirbik, Wrestling
1945 - Ken Chandler, Track
1946 - Jerry Thompson, Football
1947 - Exner Menzel, Basketball
1948 - Carlyle Fay, Jr., Rowing
1949 - Donald R. Peterson, Rowing
1950 - Robert J. Wilson, Football
1951 - David Staiger, Track, Football
1952 - Walter E. Deike, Cross Country, Track
1953 - James T. Moran, Football, Rowing
1954 - Norbert J. Esser, Basketball, Football, Track
1955 - Richard W. Cable, Basketball
1956 - Robert E. Konovsky, Football, Wrestling
1957 - Patrick J. Levenhagen, Football
1958 - Walter V. Holt, Baseball
1959 - John R. Hobbs, Basketball, Football, Track
1960 - Dale L. Hackbart, Football
1961 - Gerald L. Kulcinski, Football
1962 - Thomas M. Hughbanks, Baseball, Basketball, Football, Track
1963 - Hugh V. (Pat) Richter, Baseball, Basketball, Football
1964 - William R. Smith, Track and Field
1965 - Gary V. Kirk, Tennis
1966 - David N. Fronek, Football
1967 - Dennis J. Sweeney, Baseball
1968 - Michael Gluck, Wrestling
1969 - Karl Rudat, Football
1970 - Douglas R. McFadyen, Hockey
1971 - Don Vandrey, Track and Field
1972 - Pat Matzdorf, Track and Field
1973 - Keith D. Nosbusch, Football
1974 - Gary D. Anderson
1975 - James R. Dyreby, Jr., Rowing
1976 - Patrick J. Christenso, Wrestling
1977 - Peter W. Brey, Basketball
1978 - Michael Eaves, Hockey
1979 - Steve Lacy, Cross Country, Track
1980 - Thoams G. Stauss, Football
1981 - David C. Goodspeed, Wrestling
1982 - David Mohapp, Football and Ann French, Badminton
1983 - David Farley and Rose Thomson, Cross Country, Track
1984 - John Johannson, Hockey and Janet Huff, Basketball
1985 - John Easker, Cross Country, Track and Cathy Branta, Cross Country, Track
1986 - Tim Hacker, Cross Country, Track and Lisa Fortman, Tennis
1987 - J. J. Weber, Basketball and Amy Justeson, Swimming
1988 - Paul Gruber, Football and Chris Gilles, Tennis
1989 - Dave Lee, Wrestling and Maureen Hartzheim, Cross Country, Track
1990 - John Byce, Hockey and Susan Temple, Volleyball
1991 - Jack Waite, Tennis and Elaine Demetroulis, Tennis
1992 - Matt Demaray, Wrestling and Heather Taggart, Soccer
1993 - Donovan Bergstrom, Track and Kim Sherman, Cross Country, Track
1994 - Louis Hinshaw, Track and Field and Susie Holt, Soccer
1995 - Jeff Gold, Soccer and Dana Tzakis, Golf
1996 - Scott Lamphear, Soccer and Lauren Gavaris, Tennis
1997 - Alastair Steel, Soccer and Kathy Butler, Cross Country, Track
1998 - Erik Raygor, Hockey and Katie Voigt, Basketball
1999 - Brian Doherty, Soccer and Shannon Brown, Soccer
2000 - Jay Schoenfelder, Cross Country, Track and Gina Panighetti, Swimming
2001 - Mike Kelley, Basketball and Allie Blomquist, Golf
2002 - Danny Westerman, Tennis and Andrea Wanezek, Swimming
2003 - Kirk Penney, Basketball and Erin Byrd, Volleyball
2004 - Ryan Tremelling, Track and Morgan Shields, Volleyball
2005 - Jim Leonhard, Football and Carla MacLeod, Ice Hockey
2006 - Nathan Brown, Track and Field and Jessica Ring, Ice Hockey
2007 - Joe Thomas, Football and Sara Bauer, Ice Hockey
2008 - Adam Barhamand, Rowing and Katrina Rundhaug, Track and Cross Country
2009 - Joe Krabbenhoft, Basketball and Gwen Jorgensen, Cross Country, Track
2010 - Jack Bolas, Cross Country, Track and Chavon Robinson, Track
2011 - Gabe Carimi, Football and Maggie Meyer, Swimming
2012 - Peter Konz, Football and Laurie Nosbusch, Soccer

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago