UW Health Sports Medicine 

Maragos and Opitz named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners

ON WISCONSIN <b>Chris Maragos</b>
Chris Maragos

June 3, 2010

MADISON, Wis. - Seniors Chris Maragos and Vicky Opitz have been named the University of Wisconsin's 2010 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners, the Big Ten Conference announced on Thursday.

Opitz was UW's openweight rowing Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree. A senior on the openweight rowing squad, Opitz led the Badgers to their first-ever Big Ten Rowing title and a program-best seventh place finish at the NCAA championships this season. The Middleton, Wis., native was a 2010 First-Team All-Big Ten honoree and rowed in the Badgers' varsity eight boat all season.

Maragos, a defensive back, was the Badgers' football Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree. As a team captain in 2009, Maragos helped Wisconsin to a 10-3 overall record and capped his career with a 20-14 victory over Miami (Fla.) in the Champs Sports Bowl.

Maragos was a member of the AFCA Good Works Team along with being named honorable mention All-Big Ten by both coaches and media in 2009. Maragos also received the UW Tom Wiesner Award, given annually to a Wisconsin-born student-athlete.

Vicky Opitz

The Big Ten's 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were selected from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year for their display of positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

UW's 2010 Big Ten Sportsmanship Honorees
Men's Cross Country - Elliot Krause
Women's Cross Country - Megan Beers
Football - Chris Maragos*
Men's Soccer - Jon Rzepka
Women's Soccer - Ashley Hedges
Volleyball - Kelsey Maloney
Men's Basketball - Jason Bohannon
Women's Basketball - Ashley Thomas
Men's Indoor Track and Field - Luke Rucks
Women's Indoor Track and Field - LaQuita Brazil
Rowing - Vicky Opitz*
Men's Swimming and Diving - Austin Cox
Women's Swimming and Diving - Lauren Borja
Wrestling - Drew Hammen
Men's Tennis - Michael Dierberger
Women's Tennis - Angela Chupa
Men's Golf - Thomas Welk
Women's Golf - Beth Weinstein
Softball - Kendall Grimm
Men's Outdoor Track and Field - Nate Larkin
Women's Outdoor Track and Field - Carly Ducharm
At-large Selections
Men's Ice Hockey - Blake Geoffrion
Women's Ice Hockey - Geena Prough
Men's Rowing - Brian Wyhms
Women's Lightweight Rowing - Adrienne Winfield

Big Ten Recognizes 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Football Single Game Tickets
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago