UW Health Sports Medicine 

Four Badgers earn Academic All-Big Ten honors

ON WISCONSIN <b>Berggren is just the second player in UW basketball history to be a four-time academic all-Big Ten honoree</b>
Berggren is just the second player in UW basketball history to be a four-time academic all-Big Ten honoree

March 28, 2013

MADISON, Wis. -- A total of 32 Wisconsin student-athletes, including four from the men's basketball team, have earned the honor of being named to the winter Academic All-Big Ten team, the conference announced Wednesday.

The Badgers basketball team was represented by seniors Jared Berggren (personal finance), Ryan Evans (graduate school - education leadership) and Dan Fahey (political science) as well as junior Zach Bohannon (economics).

Berggren becomes just the second player in program history (joining Brett Valentyn, 2008-11) to earn academic all-conference honors in four consecutive years. Fahey also joins an elite club as one of 16 Badgers to be a three-time academic all-Big Ten member.

Bohannon and Evans earned their first academic distinctions in 2013. Evans was also one of nine Big Ten student-athletes to maintain a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

The Badgers have had 43 academic all-Big Ten distinctions during the Bo Ryan era (since 2001-02). Only Purdue (49) and Northwestern (44) have more honorees during that span.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

Men’s Basketball Academic All-Big Ten Honorees
Jared Berggren - Sr. Business - Finance Princeton, Minn.
Zach Bohannon - Jr. Economics Marion, Iowa
Ryan Evans - Sr. Education Leadership Phoenix, Ariz.
Dan Fahey - Sr. Political Science Chicago, Ill.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago