UW Health Sports Medicine 

Leuer named Midseason Top 30 candidate for Wooden Award

ON WISCONSIN <b>Leuer is one of six Big Ten players on the Wooden Midseason List.</b>
Leuer is one of six Big Ten players on the Wooden Midseason List.

Jan. 6, 2011

John R. Wooden Award

MADISON, Wis. -- Wisconsin senior Jon Leuer has been selected as one of the Midseason Top 30 candidates for the John R. Wooden Award as announced Thursday by The Los Angeles Athletic Club. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the list is made up of 30 student-athletes who, based on their performances in November and December, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor.

Leuer leads the Badgers and ranks fourth in the Big Ten averaging 19.3 points per game. He also ranks sixth in the conference in rebounds (7.3 per game), sixth in blocks (1.5 per game), fifth in 3-point field goal percentage (.468) and seventh in free throw percentage (.806). The Orono, Minn. native has led Wisconsin in scoring in 11 of 15 games and owns six 20-point outings this season.

Also on the watch list for the Naismith Trophy and the Senior CLASS Award, Leuer was recently named to the Mid-Season All-America team by CBSSports.com's Gary Parrish and is currently fourth in Ken Pomeroy's National Player of the Year rankings.

The Big Ten and Big 12 conferences boast the largest number of players chosen to the list, with six each. Other conferences with multiple players represented include the ACC (5), Big East (5), Pac-10 (3), and the Mountain West (2). The Horizon, SEC and Ohio Valley each had one player selected.

Purdue (JaJuan Johnson, E'Twaun Moore) and No. 1-ranked Duke (Singler, Nolan Smith) were the only schools with two players on the midseason list. In a change from the past several years, half of the players chosen are seniors. Only two freshmen made the list: Ohio State's Jared Sullinger and Terrence Jones of Kentucky.

The 35th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men's and women's Wooden Award winners, a special tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award founder Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 8-10, 2011.

About the John R. Wooden Award
Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Blake Griffin ('09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut ('09). Ohio State's Evan Turner and Connecticut's Tina Charles won the Award in 2010.
Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the Friday prior to the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to www.WoodenAward.com.

 2010-11 John R. Wooden Award - Midseason Top 30 List
 Player Height Class Position School Conference
 Marshon Brooks 6-5 Sr. G/F Providence Big East
 Alec Burks 6-6 So. G Colorado Big 12
 Malcolm Delaney 6-3 Sr. G Virginia Tech ACC
 Marcus Denmon 6-3 Jr. G Missouri Big 12
 LaceDarius Dunn 6-4 Sr. G Baylor Big 12
 Kenneth Faried 6-8 Sr. F/C Morehead State Ohio Valley
 Jimmer Fredette* 6-2 Sr. G Brigham Young Mountain West
 Austin Freeman 6-4 Sr. G Georgetown Big East
 Jordan Hamilton 6-7 So. G/F Texas Big 12
 Matt Howard 6-8 Jr. F Butler Horizon League
 Reggie Jackson 6-3 Jr. G Boston College ACC
 Rick Jackson 6-9 Sr. F Syracuse Big East
 JaJuan Johnson 6-10 Sr. F/C Purdue Big Ten
 Terrence Jones 6-8 Fr. F Kentucky SEC
 Kawhi Leonard 6-7 So. F San Diego State Mountain West
 Jon Leuer 6-10 Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
 Demetri McCamey 6-3 Sr. G Illinois Big Ten
 E’Twaun Moore 6-4 Sr. G Purdue Big Ten
 Marcus Morris 6-9 Jr. F Kansas Big 12
 Jacob Pullen 6-0 Sr. G Kansas State Big 12
 John Shurna 6-8 Jr. F Northwestern Big Ten
 Kyle Singler* 6-8 Sr. F Duke ACC
 Nolan Smith 6-2 Sr. G Duke ACC
 Jared Sullinger 6-9 Fr. F Ohio State Big Ten
 Isaiah Thomas 5-9 Jr. G Washington Pac-10
 Klay Thompson 6-6 Jr. G Washington State Pac-10
 Kemba Walker 6-1 Jr. G Connecticut Big East
 Brad Wanamaker 6-4 Sr. G Pitt Big East
 Derrick Williams 6-8 So. F Arizona Pac-10
 Jordan Williams 6-10 So. F Maryland ACC

*indicates player chosen to the 2010 Wooden Award ballot

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago