UW Health Sports Medicine 

Jordan Taylor selected as one of 20 Finalists for 2012 Bob Cousy Award

<b>Jordan Taylor scored a season-high 28 points against Michigan State Tuesday night.</b>

Jordan Taylor scored a season-high 28 points against Michigan State Tuesday night.

Jan. 4, 2012

2012 Cousy Award Finalists

- A day after scoring a season-high 28 points - including 21 of Wisconsin's final 25 points - against Michigan State, Jordan Taylor has been selected as one of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in college basketball. An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the below list of 20 student-athletes.

Taylor, who was one of five finalists for the 2011 Cousy Award, leads the Badgers, averaging 13.7 points and 4.7 assists per game, while adding 4.1 rebounds and 1.0 steals per contest. He also ranks third in the Big Ten with a 2.9 assist-to-turnover ratio on the season. During Big Ten play, Taylor is tied for the conference lead averaging 20.0 points per game.

"This list of 20 candidates consists of college basketball's elite point guards," said John L. Doleva, President & CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "Through the first few months of the season, these floor generals have demonstrated incredible leadership, court vision and toughness that epitomizes the legacy of Mr. Cousy."

"The talent level among our 20 finalists demonstrates the competitiveness at the point guard position in college basketball this year," said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award. "As we move through the next rounds to our final award-winner, it will clearly be a difficult decision to select one player from this elite group."

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down to five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. This Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday April 2nd in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year's recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut).

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago